Bacon Cheddar Jalapeno Poppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
we make these all the time. but we cook them on the BBQ. i use block cheese cut up into little squares and stuff the pepper. we make these ahead of time and take them out to the lake or camping and its a quick "hot" snack. Also for those who cant handle the heat, try the yellow peppers stuffed with pepper jack cheese. they are great, a little heat with a little sweetness! another hint, instead of toothpicks try placing a few on metal scewers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2008
Very good, we prefer the cream cheese & garlic filling best but this is a nice change off pace.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bubbasracecar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
Simple but yummy. I took previous reviewers advice and cooked the bacon a little before wrapping which seemed to work well. I used shredded cheese and didn't have any issue with the cheese running out. I left a few seeds in which added just a little heat. I think I'll try this with more kinds of cheese to spice up the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
Love it! A bit tedious for seeding the jalapenos, but use gloves! It is important to quarter the bacon. I found the longer, skinnier pieces worked much better. Use cream cheese for a variation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chez stacey
Home Town: Romeo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
This is a really good recipe and went over well. I made the filling ahead of time and added real crab meat to it, onion and some seasonings. I fried the bacon up a head of time too, just enough get some of the fat out of it. I used thick sliced bacon. I took some of the bacon juice and added it to some honey to paint on after I had the peppers stuffed and wrapped. I cut the jalapeno's in half (length ways) with the stems on, the stems added to the *look*. Everyone liked them. The filling I had left over I used for cracker dip. For extra heat I added some seeds to the filling. I'll definately make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
These are such a hit whenever I make them! We love them! I put a grill insert into my baking pan and make them on there so that the excess can drip away. I also prefer Monterey Jack cheese to the cheddar, and President's Choice bacon to any other (it rolls more easily). As another reviewer suggested, be sure to keep the cheese face up - that way its sure to be there when your done! Enjoy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
I prefer to stuff the halved chiles with shredded cheddar mixed with cream cheese, as the cream cheese counteracts the heat. I also find that cheap, thin bacon works best; thickly sliced bacon was too hard to wrap around the pepper, and took much too long to crisp. I've also just laid a slice of bacon across the top of the pepper, but wrapping it gives you more flavor & crunchy texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Wahoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
I made these and was really excited because I love spicy food. I took extra care in preparing them so that the cheese did not come out, but very disappointed! Lacked flavor. Very boring! No one ate them at my football party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mchenry, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2007
I stuffed the peppers with both Cheddar and garlic cream cheese, and they turned out great. I also put them in the freezer for 10 minutes before broiling to let the cheese harden so it didn't melt out. I served with ranch dressing, and my family and friends loved them. next time I will make more. Perfect for a football game.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2007
i put the bacon in these and they were gone
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hampton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jalapeno Bacon Cheddar Deviled Eggs

A spicy change to regular deviled eggs.

Bacon-Wrapped Jalapeno Poppers

Creamy, cheesy, spicy bite-size party appetizers.

Best Ever Jalapeno Poppers

See how to make the perfect party appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States