Bacon Cheddar Jalapeno Poppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
Tastes pretty good, but it's really hard to get the cheese to stay in the jalapeno. I've tried this recipe multiple times, but always find the cheddar leaking into the pan and becoming mostly unsalvageable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: La Jolla, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
This recipe is great. The only thing I do different is keep the jalapeno intact and just cut a slit to take out the seeds and add the chunk of cheese. Doing it this way prevents the spillover and gooey mess that's created after the cheese melts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eddysarah

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
Awesome!! Made these for the superbowl this evening & they were a hit! I also read reviews before I made these and followed the advice to cook the bacon to soft stage and glad I did cause watching them cook in the oven made me want to eat them before they cooked hehe...The only problem I had was the bacon shrunk & broke apart on some poppers but my own fault for wrapping the bacon to tight around the jalapenos. The bacon gives these a great smokey flavor which you dont even miss the breading or deep fat fried taste. I baked mine in the oven at 350 degrees for about 15-18 minutes. They came out great! Will be making these more often, recipes going in my recipe box thats for sure. Thanks a bunch for posting!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
this is a great recipe! a guy at work makes them all the time. he stretches the thinly sliced bacon all the way around the pepper so that you can't see any of the pepper. he cooks them on a broiling pan and places them in the slots so all the bacon drippings fall into the bottom pan...which makes the bacon crisp up. he cooks them for a lot longer though...usually 45 minutes. and to add an extra kick, he dust each popper with louisiana seasoning. there is nothing better! they are awesome warmed up later in the microwave! another hint is to cut then freeze your cheese before wrapping. that will help it stay inside also. happy eating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Centerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
What a hit! I made these last weekend for a poker party and they were awesome. Some thought they may be too hot but they weren't at all. The only changes I made from reading other reviews was to mix cream cheese with shredded colby jack and I used pre-cooked bacon and broiled for 3 minutes. These were excellent fresh out of the oven and still good an hour later. Everyone enjoyed them and two people asked for the recipe. Very easy to make and no clean up afterwards (use aluminum foil on baking sheet). Next time I think I'll add some of the seeds to the cheese mixture to make a bit spicier. Thanks so much, I'm making them again this weekend for Super Bowl party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dover, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
I love this recipe. I have tried many different combos of cheese and cream cheese with these. Liked chopped garlic in it a lot!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hungrymama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
SOOOO good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
We have made these for years!!! They are so yummy. Make sure you wear gloves or wash your hands really well after you finish with the peppers. We mix the cheddar with cream cheese. It makes it smoother than just by it's self. We also make some with cream cheese and smoked salmon. Definately pre book the bacon a bit and we also add a pineapple or mandrin orange slice to the top just to calm the spice a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsSpice
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
Yum. This will not serve 12 people. These are so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsSpice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
These were good, I like my bacon really cooked to where its not fatty feeling so next time I think ill cook the bacon a little before wrapping it around the pepper. Most people enjoy bacon still a little soft but I cant. But this recipe is easy and good. I still gave it 5 stars even though my tastes are different w/ bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairview, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jalapeno Bacon Cheddar Deviled Eggs

A spicy change to regular deviled eggs.

Bacon-Wrapped Jalapeno Poppers

Creamy, cheesy, spicy bite-size party appetizers.

Best Ever Jalapeno Poppers

See how to make the perfect party appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States