Bacon Cheddar Deviled Eggs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2006
These are delish, with a bacony bite to the taste. I am a big fan of the old fashioned deviled eggs, but this for a summer picnic or cook out is a great alternative to the origianl!...good job! ps. if you use real from the farm eggs you will get a more deeper yellow/orange yolk...but if you use store bought as i did when i first made these, I added a touch of red or yellow food coloring to deeping the texture a bit on the filling. Also, be sure and use older eggs, not too fresh of eggs do to the fact that fresh eggs can tear off the white in chunks when peeled, and you will think you did not cook them long enough. Hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
574 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Janie Pendleton

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2006
I made these once for a party and now everyone wants me to bring them everytime! The most interesting part - many times people that swear they don't like deviled eggs will take 2-3 of these! I also add a little sour cream to make it smoother. And, for decorating purposes, I put the yolk mixture into a bag, cut the corner off and pipe it into the eggs! I sprinkle it all with slices of green onion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
433 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2004
Very good after I made a couple adjustments. I added a little bit of finely choppedd white onion and I used bacon bits b/c it was a lot easier. My family really liked them!! They said it was a nice change to the typical deviled eggs. I also used light mayo ot lighten it up a little and reduced fat cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
382 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
Original review Oct 12, 2008:I don't normally love deviled eggs. Like, at all. But these were killer!Half sour cream, half mayo? Even better. I also added a little chopped chives and green onion and dusted the tops with paprika. EDITED: I've made this deviled egg recipe many times now and every single time it turns out fantastic. This is also just as good with turkey bacon or pre-packaged bacon bits and I've found that this is wonderful with just about any cheese, especially white cheddar cheese or pepperjack. I like to add a little hot sauce to the filling as I'm mixing it, too. For easy piping, I used a ziploc bag that I spooned the filling into, then cut a corner out of the side of the bag. I just squeezed the egg filling carefully into the egg. When I'm finished, I just throw out the bag. Nom. My husband and I fought over the last one. These are definetly making an appearance for my next holiday dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
195 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2008
I pretty much followed the recipe except due to time constraints I used premade bacon that you can cook in the microwave by Oscar Meyer. It worked REALLY well and crumbled better than the regular bacon, with less mess! (You may ahve to use more than 4 though as they are much smaller.) I also crushed an extra bacon slice into a fine pulp and sprinkled in on top of the eggs. For a decorative twist I put the yolk in a pastry bag and used a wide tip to put the filling in the whites instead of spooning them in like usual. I also used light mayo, lowfat cheddar and I didn't know if I was supposed to use powedered mustard or yellow mustard, I used the yellow mustard and it worked great and added color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
183 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2007
I LOVE eggs -- especially when they are "deviled" -- so I used this recipe as the base for a chopped egg salad hors d'ouerve I made for a group luncheon. My personal tweakings: a tad more mayonnaise, a squirt of ketchup, 1/8 tsp. horseradish and 2 shakes of tabasco sauce. I used 18 eggs (1-1/2 dozen) to present to 8 women and, when spread rather generously on 36 toasted triangles (9 slices of bread) and topped with a tiny slice of cherry tomato, they simply disappeared! :) I, personally, attribute my "pretty platter presentation" with the success of this recipe, but, more than likely, the BACON (and 2 T. of bacon drippings which I added to the mixture) may have had something to do with it, too :). I will DEFINITELY make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
126 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
I'm one of the pickiest eaters in my family, so I was glad to see a recipe that didn't call for celery or onions. The recipe tastes great, and you can even make the meal a little healthier by substituting light mayonnaise (or light Miracle Whip) and turkey bacon. I made the recipe with those ingredients plus a little paprike sprinkled on top and it tasted FANTASTIC!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2006
This was a good way to change up deviled eggs. The bacon added a great flavor. I couldn't really taste the cheese though, and I used 3 Tbsp. I added a little salt and pepper and also paprika.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
I've made this recipe several times for different functions and they all request it over & over. These eggs are truly eggs-trodinary! Totally different from your normal deviled eggs! Also a nice treat for those on low card diets!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Austin, Michigan, USA
Living In: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2005
Wow! These were great. Such a nice blend of flavors. Will never make the regular deviled eggs again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 817) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon Cheddar Deviled Eggs

Make your deviled eggs better—with bacon!

Di's Delicious Deluxe Deviled Eggs

See how to make zesty, creamy deviled eggs.

Dannon Oikos Curried Deviled Eggs

Zesty deviled eggs are a hit at potlucks, picnics, or as a party appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States