Bacon Cheddar Chive Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2004
I didn't care for these muffins, but my wife loves them. Too salty and not enough sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2004
Amazing savory muffin, more of biscuit. Perfect for brunch with eggs. This is a keeper. I used fresh snipped chives instead of dried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2004
Great muffins Shelley!! I only changed one thing - I substituted melted butter for the oil. It gave them a rich buttery taste. - Excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHERYL UTLEY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2004
These turned out great. I served them to 15 people for breakfast and received lots of compliments on them. I left the recipe exactly as is and it seemed to turn out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2003
These were great. For breakfast, with pasta, soup or salad. I doubled the bacon and cheese. I only used about 1/3 the garlic, maybe a little more. And I used about 4 TBSP of chopped fresh green onions, instead of the chives. A definate keeper. My family loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHEWETT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Susanville, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2003
I loved these muffins!!! But I think that next time I make them I will cut back on the salt and oil. They were a bit greasy, and a little saltier than I like. They are crusty on the outside,and soft and fluffy on the inside. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2002
These were really good, though the consistancy was definitely more like buiscuits than muffins. I did use only ONE teaspoon of garlic powder, and it was plenty. I'm pretty sure 1 1/2 would have been overpowering for us. I really liked them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Juneau, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2002
I was soooo excited to try these muffins, but was very disappointed with the end result. I agree with the one reviewer who said these were very time-consuming to make. The substitutions I made were: (I'm not sure if you other reviewers out there know this, but Campbell's now makes some of their cream-based soups in flavors)… So I used "Cream of Mushroom with Roasted Garlic" soup then cut way back on the garlic powder the recipe called for, used fresh chopped onions instead of the dried, used Peccorino Romano cheese instead of Parmesan, and lastly, 1 cup wheat flour and 1 cup regular. I just don't know what it was that I didn't like about these muffins, but neither my boyfriend or 8-year-old son liked them either! They also left a nasty aftertaste in my mouth!!! Thanks anyway though!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2002
These were so tasty that they were eaten any time of the day - from breakfast on. They disappeared in no time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lockport, New York, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2001
These muffins were moist and had a nice texture, but the flavor was somewhat bland despite all the zesty ingredients. I don't think I'll bother with them again - though they were easy to make, they were time consuming, and the results weren't really worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon Cheddar Deviled Eggs

Make your deviled eggs better—with bacon!

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States