Bacon Cheddar Chive Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Val-Flowers
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
Made exactly as written and they were yummy! The kids really liked them alot. Next time I will add more cheese and garlic. Thanks for a great savory muffin!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Lincoln, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
wonderful muffins. thanks so much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
Amazing recipe, the tastes are so delicious! Only thing I would suggest is rolling the dough into balls and putting out on baking shee instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by prettylittleface

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
The original recipe is a bit too salty to my taste. I wouldn't add any salt since there's already some in bacon, cheese and mushroom soup. Fresh garlic works also well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
These are delicious muffins, although I think biscuits would be a better description for them. I've followed the recipe as is and it's delicious, although I recommend using mini muffin tins instead of full size. More recently, I had to substitute a few ingredients and I think they came out even better! I used a whole can of broccoli cheese soup in place of cream of mushroom and decreased the oil by at least half. Not having chives on hand, I chopped some green onions instead. Threw in about a quarter cup of shredded Swiss along with the cheddar, and baked in mini muffin tins for 12 minutes (no wrappers necessary).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
Not something that I'd make all of the time since it took over an hour to make a double batch, but everyone really liked them. Although I'd be willing to eat them for breakfast, I'm not sure that I'd call them a breakfast muffin. Also, they remind me more of drop biscuits than muffins and didn't cook for nearly as long. Mini-muffins took 12 minutes and full size muffins took 16 minutes. After reading that some other cooks found the recipe a bit bland, I made these changes: 1. I increased the amount of Parmesan, garlic, & chives by about about half again. 2. I substituted buttermilk for the milk and added a bit more to make up for the extra thickness 3. I used the bacon fat instead of the oil I might make them next time w/o the bacon. If I did, I think that they'd remind me of the Red Lobster biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
Next time, I will leave out the added salt. Between the condensed soup and the grated parm, I think they will be salty enough as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
Wow this smells and taste good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
How could people write that these are bland? Surely they couldn't be. But they are. Somehow all the bacon and chive is lost in these. I even put extra of both because I didn't have enough of either to bother saving. Didn't hate these, but won't try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockaway, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
These are always a huge hit when I make them. I double the cheese, and use mini-muffin pans and they are always gone in minutes. They are a great side to a meal or alone for a breakfast muffin. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midwest City, Oklahoma, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon Cheddar Deviled Eggs

Make your deviled eggs better—with bacon!

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States