Bacon Blue Cheese Flat Iron Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2013
Excellent! I marinated my meat all day, and was glad that I did, as it had a wonderful flavor and was very tender. I also added hard-boiled eggs, red onion and tomatoes. The family raved over this...a definite keeper~YUM! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
Good recipe. Didn't want to use steak, so I replaced with fresh mushrooms, sliced and stir fried in the pan used for bacon, drizzled with worcestershire sauce while cooking. Also you don't need blue cheese ready-made sauce. Just add blue cheese and milk in a small blender and make sure it doesn't get too thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by George
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
This is excellent! We used a london broil and grilled it vs. stove top pan frying. Seasoned the same way. I also used two different kinds of bagged lettuces - iceberg shreds and a baby mix with red and spinach. This will be a regular in our house. To cut calories/fat I used a "light chunky" bleu cheese dressing and reduced fat cheddar cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
Wonderful salad! I marinated the steak for 2 hours before grilling it. I also used a homemade blue cheese dressing that topped this dish off beautifully!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
If you love bacon and blue cheese, then this salad is for you! A great combination of flavors! I used regular Worcestershire and also rubbed the steaks with a little minced garlic. I lightly scored them and grilled vs. pan frying in bacon grease. I used a combination of bagged salad greens and added my own mix of veggies - cherry tomatoes, thin sliced red onion, and thin sliced cucumber. I also added a little sliced avocado and croutons vs. the extra Cheddar cheese then drizzled with homemade Blue Cheese dressing. Perfect for dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: May 18, 2011
I cut the recipe down to 2 servings and made 2 individual salads. What seemed like a lot of meat and cheese turned out to be the perfect amount. Not too much, not too little. I made my own blue cheese dressing using the recipe for "Absolutely the Best Rich and Creamy Blue Cheese Dressing" from this site. My husband loved it! I prefer a little more depth to my salads like onions, tomatoes, olives, etc., and found that additional toppings only enhances the flavor rather than distracts from it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
If you want to make this salad even easier, just use the European salad mix. I didn't have Worcestershire sauce, but it turned out fine without it. It was a hit, especially with the blue cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
This is what I have for dinner when the rest of the family want hot dogs! So easy, such amazing flavour. I used a mixture of baby romaine and mache greens, and I omitted the cheddar. I will try this with crumbled goat cheese in ADDITION to the blue cheese, as well. Pair it with a hearty Zinfandel or Cabernet Sauvignon, and your taste buds will thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Spinach Salad with Hot Bacon Dressing

Watch how to make spinach salad with tangy, hot-bacon dressing.

Bacon Ranch Pasta Salad

Cheddar, bacon, and ranch dressing make a fast and flavorful pasta salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States