Bacon Blue Cheese Flat Iron Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
If you love bacon and blue cheese, then this salad is for you! A great combination of flavors! I used regular Worcestershire and also rubbed the steaks with a little minced garlic. I lightly scored them and grilled vs. pan frying in bacon grease. I used a combination of bagged salad greens and added my own mix of veggies - cherry tomatoes, thin sliced red onion, and thin sliced cucumber. I also added a little sliced avocado and croutons vs. the extra Cheddar cheese then drizzled with homemade Blue Cheese dressing. Perfect for dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
This is what I have for dinner when the rest of the family want hot dogs! So easy, such amazing flavour. I used a mixture of baby romaine and mache greens, and I omitted the cheddar. I will try this with crumbled goat cheese in ADDITION to the blue cheese, as well. Pair it with a hearty Zinfandel or Cabernet Sauvignon, and your taste buds will thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: May 18, 2011
I cut the recipe down to 2 servings and made 2 individual salads. What seemed like a lot of meat and cheese turned out to be the perfect amount. Not too much, not too little. I made my own blue cheese dressing using the recipe for "Absolutely the Best Rich and Creamy Blue Cheese Dressing" from this site. My husband loved it! I prefer a little more depth to my salads like onions, tomatoes, olives, etc., and found that additional toppings only enhances the flavor rather than distracts from it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
If you want to make this salad even easier, just use the European salad mix. I didn't have Worcestershire sauce, but it turned out fine without it. It was a hit, especially with the blue cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
This is excellent! We used a london broil and grilled it vs. stove top pan frying. Seasoned the same way. I also used two different kinds of bagged lettuces - iceberg shreds and a baby mix with red and spinach. This will be a regular in our house. To cut calories/fat I used a "light chunky" bleu cheese dressing and reduced fat cheddar cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
Wonderful salad! I marinated the steak for 2 hours before grilling it. I also used a homemade blue cheese dressing that topped this dish off beautifully!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2013
Excellent! I marinated my meat all day, and was glad that I did, as it had a wonderful flavor and was very tender. I also added hard-boiled eggs, red onion and tomatoes. The family raved over this...a definite keeper~YUM! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
Good recipe. Didn't want to use steak, so I replaced with fresh mushrooms, sliced and stir fried in the pan used for bacon, drizzled with worcestershire sauce while cooking. Also you don't need blue cheese ready-made sauce. Just add blue cheese and milk in a small blender and make sure it doesn't get too thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by George


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Bacon Ranch Pasta Salad

Cheddar, bacon, and ranch dressing make a fast and flavorful pasta salad.

Spinach Salad with Hot Bacon Dressing

Watch how to make spinach salad with tangy, hot-bacon dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States