Bacon Baked Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
I am not a bake bean lover, Baked Beans are one of my husband's favoite foods. So I decided to try this recipe. It is great. To cut back on the calories, I used Splenda's Brown Sugar Blend. I used half of the sugar that the recipe called for. They turned out great. I'll be eating more baked beans. the apples added a wonderful flavor to them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belleville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Flanders, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2008
I bought a jumbo size can of pork and beans instead of two smaller ones, and followed the rest of the recipe, except I ran out of ketchup so I used half ketchup half bbq sauce. Brought these to a family gathering and everyone raved about these beans, I would definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRISSY MARAS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
This was good as a side for our Superbowl food. I cut back on the sugar to 1/2 a cup, and only used 1/2 an onion. Thanks for the post! I really liked the addition of apple to this. It added an interesting flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patrick Luce

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
We loved these beans! I did cut the sugar to 1/2 cup as well as crumbling the bacon into the beans. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
WOW!!!! These are great! My husband loved them so that makes me happy. Next time I will only use 2tbls. brown sugar. They were just a little too sweet. I paired them with the 'Cowboy Chicken' recipe from this site and it was a great meal. This is one you can WOW your guests with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by natchis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA
Living In: Bradenton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
This recipe was really good. The only change I made was to break up the bacon to fry and put the brown sugar on top of it in the frying pan. As soon as all of the sugar melted I mixed it in. (got this idea from another allrecipe) Big hit at the picnic I brought it to. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lehigh Valley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
Now, I did use Bush's Country Style baked beans, which already have brown sugar in them. Sorry, but these were waaaayyy to sweet for me...and I used only 2 T. brown sugar. I like sweet, but not this sweet. Maybe next time I would try Original...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
These came out good, but a little bit tangier than I prefer my baked beans. Next time I'll use less apple. I used onion soup mix instead of fresh onions and added a little bit of garlic powder. When these came out of the oven, I removed the bacon and stirred the beans, as there was a good amount of fat sitting on top. Maybe I didn't pre-cook the bacon long enough to remove enough of the fat? I'll try these again, but probably cook the bacon completely and crumble into the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StayHomeCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Escondido, California, USA
Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
I was worried about using the apple but it gave it a nice texture. I did not add the brown sugar because I used Bush's beans w/brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2007
This recipe is wonderful! I prepared it for a Memorial Day cookout and friends have been asking me for the recipe ever since. The apples add a special zest to it that makes it really different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Bacon Baked Beans

See how to make baked beans with bacon, diced apples, and brown sugar.

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Simple Baked Beans

See how to make super quick-and-easy baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States