Bacon Baked Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 25, 2008
I bought a jumbo size can of pork and beans instead of two smaller ones, and followed the rest of the recipe, except I ran out of ketchup so I used half ketchup half bbq sauce. Brought these to a family gathering and everyone raved about these beans, I would definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRISSY MARAS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
These came out good, but a little bit tangier than I prefer my baked beans. Next time I'll use less apple. I used onion soup mix instead of fresh onions and added a little bit of garlic powder. When these came out of the oven, I removed the bacon and stirred the beans, as there was a good amount of fat sitting on top. Maybe I didn't pre-cook the bacon long enough to remove enough of the fat? I'll try these again, but probably cook the bacon completely and crumble into the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StayHomeCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Escondido, California, USA
Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
I was worried about using the apple but it gave it a nice texture. I did not add the brown sugar because I used Bush's beans w/brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
This recipe is absolutely delicious! I scaled back on the brown sugar (I used Splenda Brown Sugar) and it was still fabulous. The flavor from the bacon and apples was great! 2 thumbs up!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
WOW!!!! These are great! My husband loved them so that makes me happy. Next time I will only use 2tbls. brown sugar. They were just a little too sweet. I paired them with the 'Cowboy Chicken' recipe from this site and it was a great meal. This is one you can WOW your guests with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by natchis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA
Living In: Bradenton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
This is now a favorite that we make every Sunday. I do use the creamy dijon mustard and Splenda brown sugar blend. I feel like I am eating dessert with my meal !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2007
The beans are very sweet and sugary so be careful what you add as a main dish. I made the mistake of making meatloaf which also had a lot of brown sugar and bbq sauce. Other than that the beans were great. I didn't have enough pans to make it in so I did it on the stove and it was still really, really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theresa Faulkner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2007
This recipe is wonderful! I prepared it for a Memorial Day cookout and friends have been asking me for the recipe ever since. The apples add a special zest to it that makes it really different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
I am not a bake bean lover, Baked Beans are one of my husband's favoite foods. So I decided to try this recipe. It is great. To cut back on the calories, I used Splenda's Brown Sugar Blend. I used half of the sugar that the recipe called for. They turned out great. I'll be eating more baked beans. the apples added a wonderful flavor to them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belleville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Flanders, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
This was good as a side for our Superbowl food. I cut back on the sugar to 1/2 a cup, and only used 1/2 an onion. Thanks for the post! I really liked the addition of apple to this. It added an interesting flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanaquil

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon Baked Beans

See how to make baked beans with bacon, diced apples, and brown sugar.

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Simple Baked Beans

See how to make super quick-and-easy baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States