Bacon Baked Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 19, 2010
Adding a diced sour apple is probably the best thing to ever happen to baked beans! This was a little too sweet for me - I would recommend 1/4-1/2 c brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
Made for Easter dinner, used original Bush beans, so didn't add any brown sugar, cut back on onion only because some of the diners don't like onion.Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
The BEST ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
This recipe is close to mine, but I only use half a cup of Brown Sugar, 1 Tbs. Mustard, Lipton Onion Soup. I also add 2 TBS. of Karo syrup for added thickness, then add 2 strips of Bacon. This recipe is good, but I still prefer mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Garland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
Great recipe! I used 1/2 the brown sugar and half an onion and everyone loved them! I will definitely add this to my collection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
I found almost the exact recipe in The Betty Crocker cookbook in the 60's. Only thing it didn't call for ketchup but Lea & Perrins instead. We're been making this all my married life and my kids and everyone who eats it likes it. It's better to saute the onions in the bacon fat. Gives it a better flavor. The apple must have been your idea. Good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ghc630

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Metairie, Louisiana, USA
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
This is the way I've always made baked beans but instead of apple, I add 1 can (drained) pineapple tidbits, finely chopped onion, and green pepper. If you like more of a sweet and sour taste try adding a little yellow mustard. About 1/2 teaspoon. You'll especially love the pineapple tidbits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hillsboro, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
This recipe was really good. The only change I made was to break up the bacon to fry and put the brown sugar on top of it in the frying pan. As soon as all of the sugar melted I mixed it in. (got this idea from another allrecipe) Big hit at the picnic I brought it to. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lehigh Valley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
I did as some others suggested and cut down a little on the sugar. I was disappointed that I couldn't really taste the apple. My boyfriend said, "There is just nothing to them." I felt they tasted too much like beans I could buy canned. I will still look for another baked bean recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miranda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
I cut down on the mustard and added a few splashes of worstershire sauce, 2 tbls. of molasses and 3 slices of crumbled bacon to the beans. They turned out great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon Baked Beans

See how to make baked beans with bacon, diced apples, and brown sugar.

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Simple Baked Beans

See how to make super quick-and-easy baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States