Back-Burner Ratatouille Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
This was good, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aimeelynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
I love ratatouille and had to try out this recipe. With a few minor adjustments, it came out beautifully! I wanted equal amounts of zucchini, squash and eggplant, so that wound up being 3 zukes, 2 squash and 1 eggplant. I used 2 cans of fire-roasted tomatoes and 3 cloves of minced garlic. I also added about a teaspoon or so of sugar to cut the acidity of the tomatoes and the potential bitterness of the eggplant (hey, I'm Southern; we add sugar to everything, lol). I added about 1/2 tsp of cayenne, and most importantly, instead of Italian Seasoning, I used about a tablespoon of Herbes de Provence (this is a French Provencal dish, not Italian). It was everything I wanted. And I have leftovers to put in the freezer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
My husband put this together today. We had it in the crockpot on low for 8 hours. The taste was fantastic and not heavy. I do not have Italian Seasoning but I looked up what spices made that seasoning and created my own. I also had 2 large minced garlic cloves as we like garlic. He served it over pasta and it was a great dish. Will make it again, and again, and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
I also made this in the crock pot. I used a little more zucchini and eggplant than called for, turned out great. It's really better the next day or two. I toasted some thin slices of ciabatta on the grill ,put this on top along with chopped pepperoni and mozzarella cheese. Put under broiler for a minute or two. Excellent! Hubs wants it again this week! I'll serve it with a big Italian salad. Can't wait! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Party Chef

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
Was much more flavorful than I was expecting. Really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
Full of flavour. I followed the recipe exactly as written. Will definitely make this again. Served it with rice and some garlic bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by canuckguy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
Delicious, healthy, and satisfying all in one meal! I used the crockpot method and made the dish twice...both times i got rave reviews from my family. I did not have yellow squash to add but it didn't matter, it was wonderful. I like to serve it in a bowl with a 1/4 cup light ricotta on top...mmm will be making this many times for sure! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hershey, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
At first I thought I added too many veggies because the pot was near full. Once it started to cook down the amount of veggies was right on the money! Recipe was delicious and my house smells amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by farmgirl291
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
I have never had ratatouille in my 20 years of life until recently and since then I've been dying to try and make it myself. I love how simple this recipe is, just veggies and seasoning. I used fresh diced tomatoes, and red and yellow peppers instead of zucchini as well as some cabbage and cremini mushrooms. Even my squash hating, meat and potatoes of a guy father liked it! The giant kettle was nearly gone within a few hours! Definitely a good recipe to have in your back pocket!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shoreview, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Scandia, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
Very good. A little runny. Next time I might try draining the tomatoes a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hawley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Fargo, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Disney’s Ratatouille

Colorful vegetables bake in a garlicky tomato sauce.

Ratatouille Bake

Vegetables and cheese ravioli are baked in a flavorful tomato sauce.

Ratatouille

Summer’s tastiest vegetables converge in this classic casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States