Bachelor's Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2002
I was searching for a great stew recipe and can stop looking! I just loved this stew! I was just licking my chops the entire meal. I looked through the reviews first and also made a few changes to it. I only added 1 can of tomato soup and substituted with a bit of water. Instead of tapioca I added 2 medium potatoes. I also added a touch of garlic powder to the bread crumb mixture. I was a bit more liberal with the soy sauce and also added a touch of Worchestershire. When it was ready (just over 10 hours) I wanted the broth a bit thicker so I took out 3/4 cup of the broth and added some cornstarch. I then put the stew on high to get it bubbling and then I added the cornstarch mixture back in. Next time I'll do that a bit earlier. It was just lovely. Seems like I made a lot of changes but to me, they were only minor. YUM!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dauphin, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2001
I tried this for the first time today and it came out great. I omitted the tapioca but added a couple of cubed potatoes. My husband picked out the mushrooms but overall gave it two thumbs up. I served homemade biscuits with the stew for a very hearty meal. Thanks for sharing this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2003
Don't be afraid to use tapioca in this or any beef stew. The tapioca is a THICKENER - it doesn't have anything to do with the flavor. This is a wonderful beef stew recipe and it makes plenty! I would give it 10 stars if only the nice people at allrecipes would let me! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2001
This was surprisingly good. 10-12 hours is way too long. I think 6-8 would be adequate. I started mine on low for a few hours, cranked it up to high for about 2 hours and then back to low for 1 hour. My meat was a little tough but flavor was good. I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2000
Unless you like stew that is on the sweet side, I wouldn't recommend this recipe. I would suggest using canned whole or stewed tomatoes instead of canned tomato soup and leave out the tapioca...made it very sweet instead of tangy. I also added potatoes and some bay leaves for extra flavor. Very easy and simple to make. Perfect recipe to freeze and reheat for a last-minute dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2002
Intially, I wasn't so sure but after a few bites, I really liked the taste. Very unique and I'd be impressed if any bachelor made this for me. Different from all the other stews I've had before. My family also liked this and I'll be sure its on the dinner table again in the future! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2003
I reviewed this a couple of years ago and have read some of the more recent entries. I still keep coming back to this recipe over and over. Everything I had tried up until then for a beef dish in the crock pot turned out to be the same. The tomato soup really added something different. I do still add the tapioca but wouldn't mind trying the barley as someone else mentioned. I added some potatoes to the original recipe as well. I've changed it a little over the years but not by much such as adding 2 cups of beef broth for example. It was a great recipe to happen upon and can be changed to fit your own tastes etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hermon, Maine, USA
Living In: Westbrook, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2001
Great recipe for a cold winter day. I added potatoes and stewed tomatoes. My kids rated this meal an 8 on the 1-10 scale. I would recommend this recipe to my friends and family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2003
I thought this recipes was excellent. I did, however, omit the tapioca...and I also added potatos and fresh garlic. It was quite yummy, had a real different flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Old Lyme, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
Wonderful Recipe!!!! I made it exactly as stated with one accidental change..... I used Jello brand tapioca instead of real tapioca..... IT TURNED out WONDERFUL. I made it for halloween so everone could have some when they showed up. I served it over egg noodles, and my parents, inlaws and kids all had several helpings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew

See how to make a flavorful beef stew with vegetables in a slow-cooker.

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States