Bachelor's Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2000
Unless you like stew that is on the sweet side, I wouldn't recommend this recipe. I would suggest using canned whole or stewed tomatoes instead of canned tomato soup and leave out the tapioca...made it very sweet instead of tangy. I also added potatoes and some bay leaves for extra flavor. Very easy and simple to make. Perfect recipe to freeze and reheat for a last-minute dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2000
We really liked this recipe! It was easy and I like the fact that it can cook while I am at work. I made at quadruple batch for a potluck at church and it was the only entree to be completely eaten with rave reviews from everyone! I'm making it again for guests tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2000
This recipe is so easy and sooo good, you'd be a fool to pass it by! Try it once...you'll be hooked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2000
Very tasty stew!!! I am a beginner cook and the family loved it!!!! Tastes really good with sweet corn bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Verna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2000
I made this with round steak and served it over rice. My kids, instead of the usual "It's OK" said, "This is WONderful!". And I agree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2000
Great tasting stew! Very hearty. I served it over lumpy mashed potatoes and it was a hit with my family. Will make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2000
My family loved this. It was easy to put together in the morning before work, and simple to serve after work. My whole family thought it was excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2000
This stew definately needed potatoes to help it along, but even then, it just wasn't worth the effort. My family didn't care for its flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2000
This was absolutly WONDERFUL! Very easy to make and didn't have to worry about making dinner that night, since it sat in the crockpot all day! I only used 1-1/2 cans of tomato soup (that was all I had on hand), and it still turned out great! I left out the mushrooms (my fiance doesn't care for them) and added a couple cut up red potatoes. I'm passing this one on to everyone I know!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Blanchard Angell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mason City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2000
Wonderfully easy and really good. Definitely a "keeper", glad I tried it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stryker, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pittsford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Venison Stew

See how to make a classic stew with venison, carrots, and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States