Bachelor's Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2003
My husband loved it and doesn't want me to make any other stew. I did add more spices and also potatoes and red and green peppers. Will keep making this stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2003
Don't be afraid to use tapioca in this or any beef stew. The tapioca is a THICKENER - it doesn't have anything to do with the flavor. This is a wonderful beef stew recipe and it makes plenty! I would give it 10 stars if only the nice people at allrecipes would let me! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2003
Tired of all those brothy or cream of mushroom stews? Then you gotta try this recipe! I made it as is and it is wonderful!! Great change, easy to make and hearty taste. My boyfriend couldn't get enough of his and complimented me on it all night! Don't be scared of the tapioca (I admit- I was too) because it adds great flavor! Great recipe Corwynn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2003
I was very impressed with how easy and tasty this recipe was. My Husband and I loved it and I will definatly be making this again. I changed a couple of things also...I added two medium potatoes instead of the tapioca and about a cup of frozen peas to the recipe. I also ommited one of the cans of tomatoe soup and instead added a cup of water. It turned out pretty much perfect for flavor and thickness. LOVED IT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2003
My family really didn't like this recipe at all. I followed it to the T. I liked it myself but the others didn't maybe I'll try potatoes instead of tapioca.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Pierce, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2003
I liked this and my husband loved it. I used barley instead of tapioca. Thickened the sauce and added some body to the stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2003
I WOULD RATHER HAVE STEW WITH A BROWN GRAVY BASE. TOO MUCH TOMATOE FOR ME.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2003
I thought this recipes was excellent. I did, however, omit the tapioca...and I also added potatos and fresh garlic. It was quite yummy, had a real different flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Old Lyme, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2003
I reviewed this a couple of years ago and have read some of the more recent entries. I still keep coming back to this recipe over and over. Everything I had tried up until then for a beef dish in the crock pot turned out to be the same. The tomato soup really added something different. I do still add the tapioca but wouldn't mind trying the barley as someone else mentioned. I added some potatoes to the original recipe as well. I've changed it a little over the years but not by much such as adding 2 cups of beef broth for example. It was a great recipe to happen upon and can be changed to fit your own tastes etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hermon, Maine, USA
Living In: Westbrook, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2002
Intially, I wasn't so sure but after a few bites, I really liked the taste. Very unique and I'd be impressed if any bachelor made this for me. Different from all the other stews I've had before. My family also liked this and I'll be sure its on the dinner table again in the future! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States