Bachelor's Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2005
Very tasty Recipe! I used 1 lb of beef stew meat, omitted the bread crumbs & added barley instead of the tapioca. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy Moritz

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2005
This is a sure winner! I took it to work in my crockpot to share with everyone -- they all raved about the delicious taste. The only change I made was adding a can of italian style diced tomatoes for depth of flavor. Next time I will add a couple of cubed potatoes for more sustance. This one is a keeper for sure. Thanks Corwynn for sharing it with us all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MANORBOOKS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2005
Loved this easy stew. I left out the mushrooms entirely and threw in some baked potato chunks for the last half hour or so. Even my sister-in-law, who rarely eats red meat, loved this recipe enough to ask for it. My brother is very happy...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2004
easy recipe ...but kind of bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oneida, New York, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2004
Easy to make and taste amazing. I added some polish sausage to it and makes a great Tailgate stew...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellefontaine, Ohio, USA
Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2004
I added potatoes and left out the tapioca. Overall, it was pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cumberland, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Pawtucket, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2003
This was very good! I substituted instant potato flakes for the tapioca and added grean beans and corn. It was yummy on a cold snowy day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2003
This recipe was not bad. I would make it again but next time I will use diced tomatoes instead of the soup. It had too much of a canned taste, it is also incredibly thick. The tapioca would be the perfect thickener then. I also used fresh mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2003
over-all very nice recipe. I added diced potatoes to make a complete meal. tapioca worked fine as a thickener....just be sure to cook the entire 10 to 12 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SURFWENCH

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2003
Excellent and easy. I used regular stew meat and 1 can of whole mushrooms. Next time I will add a few potatoes but only because my husband missed haaving them. Great flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SQUEAKYLYNN

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 21-30 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States