Bachelor's Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
This was really good. I didn't add the Tapioca but it still tasted great. I will be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
It's quick, it's relatively inexpensive and I actually like the texture of the tapioca but something about this burns the back of my throat. It is uncomfortable going down. I think it's all the tomato soup and soy sauce maybe? I was pretty bummed because otherwise all those flavors together should have been pretty tasty... Makes a lot, was done in perfect timing after a long work day, just not that perfect bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trey's Mumma

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
My family basically. Killed this ;-) Following basic instructions and ingredients to a T with the exception of not having beef chuck, I had Pork Stew meat to use and this recipe compliments using such ingredient. The only suggestion in using pork stew meat, is to cut out the salt out, as I have found out. But it was a fabulous...and so we thought. I can't say anything negative. Meat was nice and tender, the veggies were succulant, the over all flavor was comforting and soothing to the soul. This is a total keeper in my house. I nearly doubled the recipe but chose not to and it easily feed family with no leave overs. TY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
I have been making this recipe for years and realized I've never rated it and my family has enjoyed it so much. I use potatoes instead of tapioca, leave out the mushrooms (not my choice) and probably add a little more soy sauce. I'm not sure though since I've made it so many times I don't measure anymore. Thank you for a great recipe and the only way I make stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
Super easy recipe. A little bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
Very good. I followed the recipe except that i used minced beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
This was just fair. I thought the tomato soup overpowered with a preserved flavor. I needed to add 2 1/2 cups of beef broth to eliminate the gelatinous texture. Also agree with other reviewers, this needed potatoes or barley. On the plus side, the beef was very tender. Likely won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
always turns out perfect with such little effort. cook it as long as you can, it gets even more delicious when the meat is verrry tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
I made so many changes that I had to reduce to 4 stars. I use potatoes instead of tapioca, terriyaki sauce instead of soy, one bigger can of ready-to-eat tomato soup instead of the condensed, add worcesterchire sauce and red wine, and skip the onions and mushrooms. My family loves it. Sometimes I serve in in mini bread bowls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
Wonderful Recipe!!!! I made it exactly as stated with one accidental change..... I used Jello brand tapioca instead of real tapioca..... IT TURNED out WONDERFUL. I made it for halloween so everone could have some when they showed up. I served it over egg noodles, and my parents, inlaws and kids all had several helpings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Venison Stew

See how to make a classic stew with venison, carrots, and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States