Bachelor's Creamy Pumpkin Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
This is truely wonderful! I did add a few extras for my own taste. I used chicken broth in place of water, white pepper, 1 tsp. onion powder, 1 tsp. pumpkin pie spice, 2 tablespoons brown sugar, 1/2 tsp. cumin, 1/2 tsp. sage, nutmeg and cinnamon to taste. I served this soup at a tea and it had everyone asking for more plus the recipe!:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2002
Surprisingly good! I was a bit apprehensive at first, but it turned well ^^ I did have to subsitute the condensed cream of potato with condensed cream of chicken. I also didn't have any cream, so I added milk instead. It's a very thick and hearty soup. Delicious! (think winter soup ^^)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2003
I made this for a dinner party, and everyone wanted seconds! It's creamy and tasty, especially with extra garlic and potato chunks-- make sure you follow the recipe and use heavy cream, by the way.. thanks =0) So easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2003
This is so good on a cold fall evening. I decreased the fat content by not adding the butter and using fat free half and half for the cream. Of course I used "Skim" milk too. I also added 1 tsp of cinnamon and 2 Tbsp of dark brown sugar. This recipe is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2004
WOW, this recipe is great. I was looking for a way to use up some canned pumpkin and thought soup would be an unusual choice. Saw this recipe and thought that it was quick and easy - so I decided to use it. Mind you, I have only had pumpkin soup once and it was from some gourmet recipe that required fresh pumpkin and a long list of ingredients. This simple recipe was much better than that one. I made it exactly as called for and found that it was a wee bit bland, although I could definitely taste the pumkin and only used enough water to get it to the right consistancy. So as several reviewers suggested, I spiced it up. I added onion 1 tsp onion powder, 1 Tbs. sugar, 1 Tbs. curry powder - and 2 tsp of a Morrocan spice blend (cumin, paprika, cinnamon, corriander, ginger) I had left over from another recipe. YUM! This was total perfection! Now we like things savory, so that you may want to adjust the amounts, but this is delicious and definitely a keeper. My cream of potato soup (Campbells) had chunks of potatoes, so I purred it with a stick blender before serving. Thanks, Katherine, for the wonderfully easy recipe. There is a bit left over - and it is MINE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Skokie, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2003
This recipe was very easy and was tasty. I needed something to take it to work for the food day on the 31st. But I did not have time to make anything ahead of time. So I grabbed the spices from home and bought the rest of the stuff from the store that morning and headed to my office with my crock pot. I put all the ingredients in the crock pot in front of my co-workers and put it in high till it started to bubble and turned it to low. They all liked it. Especially it was so easy. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2003
I like to find easy recipes to involve my little ones in the cooking process. Very easy, and quick clean-up. Smooth texture, but I added about a cup of more water over teh cooking process, as I did not want it too thick. Creamy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2003
So quick and easy! Used skim milk instead of cream and was still nice and thick and creamy! Had to substitute cream of chicken soup, but still yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2003
easy, easy, easy... heard many compliments and had a few go back for 2nds. awesome served w/ crusty warmed french bread...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2003
Ease of preparation escalates this soup's rating. It's tasty, too, esp. if nutmeg and sage are added ala Harvest Pumpkin Soup recipe--potatoes in crm of potato soup MUST be blended so no chunks are present--consider substituting some of crm of potato soup and cream with non-fat chicken broth
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RBREAR

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Pumpkin Soup

This creamy pumpkin soup is a fall favorite.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States