Bachelor's Creamy Pumpkin Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2015
I've tried this a couple ways, all have been hearty & delicious!! My favorite modifications... Swap out Cream of Chicken for Cream of Potato, Vegi or Chicken broth for water & increase to 1cup, evaporated milk for heavy cream & add petite diced tomatoes! I also sprinkled with Smoked Paprika instead of reg, added a "dollop of Daisy"and made Cheesy Garlic Biscuits on the side! There are so many ways to modify this dish, or leave as-is and it is still good!! New family favorite for quick dinner nights...and did I mention healthy?!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
This is an awesome soup. I added a whole butternut squash to make it a little of my own, and it was simply delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Crikkitt
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
This was pretty good. Now, I wouldn't run out and buy the ingredients JUST to make this soup, but for a good soup on a cold night, this is perfect. I used chicken broth instead of water and used fresh garlic and ginger. This is simple and uses ingredients that I keep on hand so we'll be making this one again. Though I'm hoping that we'll be done with cold weather soon!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crikkitt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tipp City, Ohio, USA
Living In: Midland, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
So disappointed in this recipe - bland and canned flavor. Took a ton of spices to semi-rescue this. The potato soup was a major misstep. It totally subdued the pumpkin flavor. We threw most of it out. What a shame.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
Delish! Something I'll make over and over again. I ended up adding a bit more garlic powder and ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, California, USA
Living In: Lewisville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
This was very simple to make, but good. I used 2% milk instead of cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
I cooked my pumpkin from Halloween ( cut up with a little water in a baking pan covered with tin foil and baked) Scooped out the cooked pumpkin and pureed in a blender with a little chicken broth. Then I followed the recipe. Used the same spices but, did add more of each for the taste. I thought it had a bisque like flavor and texture so I added stone crab which I had the night before. Picked out the fresh crab meat from the cracked crab claw's Oh! My! was this wonderful. I put some in the freezer and hope it freezes well. Nice meal with a loaf of warm crusty buttered bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kayakjoan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Tequesta, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
made with fresh pumpkin, my husband and I are in love with this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
Wow. I cannot believe how delicious and easy this soup was! I did not have the cream so I used evaporated milk. I also added crushed walnuts on top. I will be making this all throughout the season. It was a hit! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RunningRoz1

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Harrison City, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Latrobe, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
This was perfect. I was trying to duplicate a Pumpkin Soup we had in Japan several years ago. they served it in a flat soup bowl with 1 crouton on top; very elegant. My only changes were substituting lo-sodium chicken broth in place of water, and Lactaid milk in place of cream (which I always do because of an intolerance). It turned out delicious. Exactly the savory flavor I was looking for, nothing like eating Pumpkin Pie Soup. I will double the recipe next time. Oh yes, and I cooked it in the Slow Cooker 4 hours as others had suggested, I believe that melded the flavors nicely. So easy, so good. Thank you so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Loveland, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Soup

This creamy pumpkin soup is a fall favorite.

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States