Bachelor's Creamy Pumpkin Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2004
Quick and easy, and quite tasty also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grapevine, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2004
WOW, this recipe is great. I was looking for a way to use up some canned pumpkin and thought soup would be an unusual choice. Saw this recipe and thought that it was quick and easy - so I decided to use it. Mind you, I have only had pumpkin soup once and it was from some gourmet recipe that required fresh pumpkin and a long list of ingredients. This simple recipe was much better than that one. I made it exactly as called for and found that it was a wee bit bland, although I could definitely taste the pumkin and only used enough water to get it to the right consistancy. So as several reviewers suggested, I spiced it up. I added onion 1 tsp onion powder, 1 Tbs. sugar, 1 Tbs. curry powder - and 2 tsp of a Morrocan spice blend (cumin, paprika, cinnamon, corriander, ginger) I had left over from another recipe. YUM! This was total perfection! Now we like things savory, so that you may want to adjust the amounts, but this is delicious and definitely a keeper. My cream of potato soup (Campbells) had chunks of potatoes, so I purred it with a stick blender before serving. Thanks, Katherine, for the wonderfully easy recipe. There is a bit left over - and it is MINE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Skokie, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2004
I don't know if i somehow cooked this wrong or what? I couldn't even eat it? Good idea...but i guess it's not for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2004
Easy to make....I liked it...bit bland but you can add something to it....my kids (2 and 4) wouldn't eat it. I'd make it agin though just for my self it was so quick and easy to make. I topped it with oyster crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2004
If the recipe is followed exactly, I think the soup comes out a little bland. I added more pumpkin, more garlic and nutmeg. It's a very hearty soup--I served it with crusty sourdough and it was a meal in itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2004
This soup was wonderful! Every time I have someone over for lunch I make it and the recipe is always asked for. Everyone raves over it. It is also so incredibly easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2004
We didn't really like this soup. Tasted too bland. Not how I remembered a pumpkin soup from a restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2004
My husband LOVED this, particularly compared to other pumpkin soup recipes I've tried from this website. I also thought it was good although I'm still searching for the perfect cream of pumpkin soup to replicate some I had a few years ago that was to die for. I had been initially a little skeptical about the potato soup in this recipe, but it really made it thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2004
This was a hearty soup and VERY EASY to make. My family liked it more than I did. I couldn't find condensed potato soup and used a Chunky style potato soup w/ roasted garlic. I also used half & half. They ate ALL of the soup (Mom had 2 bowls)! I think if I had the right potato soup, it would have been more "pumpkiny"...like I was expecting. Will try this soup again...great for COLD winter days/nights.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2003
My family GORGED themselves on this soup! I even plan to make it for my in-laws! A little less salt, a little more pumpkin, and it's PERFECT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Pumpkin Soup

This creamy pumpkin soup is a fall favorite.

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States