Bachelor's Creamy Pumpkin Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
Loved it! Followed a previous review to make it lower in fat content and it still turned out great. I love pumpkin flavor, and am going to add more pumpkin next time. Even my husband liked it, and he hardly ever considers soup a meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
I altered the recipe according to jody1's review and it jumped up from rather bland to 5 stars. I loved the subtle spices. And it was just as easy. Add the broth, brown sugar, and spices!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
This is an easy and very tasty recipe. Made a few changes. I used low sodium chicken broth instead of water and half/half instead of cream. I warmed this on the stove and then put it in the crockpot for a few hours.The chicken broth seemed to make it a little salty so I added a mixture of cinnamon/sugar to it and discovered that it is the secret ingredient that took this soup to the next level.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
I made this for a work potluck and it was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cicero, Illinois, USA
Living In: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
This soup is easy and awesome! My only changes were that I used roasted butternut squash and low fat milk. I served it with crusty French bread that I warmed in the oven and a green salad. My husband licked the bowl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Gettysburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
I had high hopes for this recipe after reading all the great reviews. Both my husband and I didn't care for it. First I made it exactly like the recipe. I tasted it and thought it was much too "garlicy." So I took the suggestion of a reviewer and added a tsp cinnamon and 2 tbsp brown sugar. This helped somewhat but now it had a weird garlicy sweet flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
This is a great base for an easy recipe - though I added 1 tsp cinnamon, 1/2 tsp nutmeg and 2 tbsp dark brown sugar as I'd seen others do and it definitely helped! I couldn't find cream of potato soup so I subbed lowfat butternut squash soup to keep with the fall theme, and the flavors mixed wonderfully - I'm keeping this adjusted recipe on hand!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
This was easy and tasty, but pretty bland as is. I don't think it had enough spices in it to really bring out the pumpkin-ness. I would add a lot more garlic, more paprika, white pepper, allspice, and probably whatever else I had laying around. A good base recipe, but be prepared to experiment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
i like the concept of this recipe and how easy it is. however, i like a sweeter/spicier flavor in my soup, so i used chicken broth instead of water and the following spices: brown sugar, cumin, cinnamon, nutmeg. it was easy to make and very satisfying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
Instead of creamed potato soup, I drained/added can of diced potatoes. Best of all, I browned 1/2 lb. sausage with some chopped onions, stirred that in with fat-free half/half, and instead of ginger, added a pinch of cayenne. Oh, I reduced water to 3/4 cup. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sulphur, Louisiana, USA
Living In: South Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Soup

This creamy pumpkin soup is a fall favorite.

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States