Bachelor's Creamy Pumpkin Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
Loved it! Followed a previous review to make it lower in fat content and it still turned out great. I love pumpkin flavor, and am going to add more pumpkin next time. Even my husband liked it, and he hardly ever considers soup a meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
I altered the recipe according to jody1's review and it jumped up from rather bland to 5 stars. I loved the subtle spices. And it was just as easy. Add the broth, brown sugar, and spices!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
This is an easy and very tasty recipe. Made a few changes. I used low sodium chicken broth instead of water and half/half instead of cream. I warmed this on the stove and then put it in the crockpot for a few hours.The chicken broth seemed to make it a little salty so I added a mixture of cinnamon/sugar to it and discovered that it is the secret ingredient that took this soup to the next level.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
I made this for a work potluck and it was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cicero, Illinois, USA
Living In: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
This soup is easy and awesome! My only changes were that I used roasted butternut squash and low fat milk. I served it with crusty French bread that I warmed in the oven and a green salad. My husband licked the bowl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Gettysburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
I had high hopes for this recipe after reading all the great reviews. Both my husband and I didn't care for it. First I made it exactly like the recipe. I tasted it and thought it was much too "garlicy." So I took the suggestion of a reviewer and added a tsp cinnamon and 2 tbsp brown sugar. This helped somewhat but now it had a weird garlicy sweet flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
This is a great base for an easy recipe - though I added 1 tsp cinnamon, 1/2 tsp nutmeg and 2 tbsp dark brown sugar as I'd seen others do and it definitely helped! I couldn't find cream of potato soup so I subbed lowfat butternut squash soup to keep with the fall theme, and the flavors mixed wonderfully - I'm keeping this adjusted recipe on hand!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
This was easy and tasty, but pretty bland as is. I don't think it had enough spices in it to really bring out the pumpkin-ness. I would add a lot more garlic, more paprika, white pepper, allspice, and probably whatever else I had laying around. A good base recipe, but be prepared to experiment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
i like the concept of this recipe and how easy it is. however, i like a sweeter/spicier flavor in my soup, so i used chicken broth instead of water and the following spices: brown sugar, cumin, cinnamon, nutmeg. it was easy to make and very satisfying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
Instead of creamed potato soup, I drained/added can of diced potatoes. Best of all, I browned 1/2 lb. sausage with some chopped onions, stirred that in with fat-free half/half, and instead of ginger, added a pinch of cayenne. Oh, I reduced water to 3/4 cup. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sulphur, Louisiana, USA
Living In: South Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Pumpkin Soup

This creamy pumpkin soup is a fall favorite.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States