Baby Spinach Omelet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
What a lovely breakfast. I cut the fat by a huge amount and used four egg whites instead of two whole eggs (1 egg has approximately 5g of fat, vs 1 egg white which has only about 0.2g fat). I used frozen spinach which I cooked before adding to the egg mixture. I used fresh chopped onions instead of onion powder, because I had them on hand so why not? This is a very good basis for a spinach omelet, and you can easily tweak it to your own liking. A great way to incorporate veggies into your diet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
232 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Very good omelet that's god for you too! Instead of using onion powder I sauteed some onion and then added the spinach. I cooked that until it was wilted. I added a little milk to the eggs before adding them to the veggies and threw in a couple cherry tomatoes cut in half for a little color and flavor. I left out the nutmeg altogether. When it was all done I seasoned it with salt, pepper, and shredded Parmesan cheese. Great with whole grain toast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
189 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
Beautifuly delicious! I added a bit of milk and onion to the egg mixture, and actually used shredded mozarella cheese because I didn't have anythng else. WOW! My hubby loved them! For presentation, I sprinkled a bit of spinach and shredded cheese on top . I will be making these often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
175 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake Lure, North Carolina, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
Spinach omelets are one of my favorites and something I make for myself often, slightly varying what I put in them each time. On this occasion I sauteed chopped onion in butter, added the spinach and cooked just till wilted, added the eggs, cooked them until almost set, then topped with the Parmesan (just a sprinkle), some shredded Provolone and chopped tomatoes before folding the omelet over. Mushrooms also would be a great addition. I'm familiar with the combination of nutmeg and spinach which is used often in Italian cooking, but I don't care for it so chose not to use it. (Even so, the amount called for seems like nutmeg overkill - it's flavor should be VERY subtle) I omitted the onion powder as well. I would suggest not using the full amount of Parmesan, at least to start, as 1-1/2 T. seems like an awful lot for just two eggs. Similarly for the onion powder, which I wouldn't use at all, let alone 1/4 teaspoon. Good start to a great spinach omelet with some modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2004
This IS awesome....I was a little skeptical about the nutmeg, but it turned out great! I used egg beaters and also added a chopped roma tomato. Ate it with a 1/2 whole wheat bagle.....Great way to start the day, thanks Holly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2006
I really enjoyed this recipe. Four weeks into the south beach diet and the last thing I want is another egg, but this made breakfast very enjoyable. I especially liked the touch of nutmeg!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2005
Not bad! I added chopped green onions, a tbs or so of milk, half a roma tomato and some garlic powder to the mix, and subbed mozzarella for parmesan, then topped it with a little cheddar at the end of cooking, and folded over omelet style. It was quite good, and filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2005
This is one of my favorite breakfasts. I leave out the nutmeg (not a favorite of mine in savory dishes). If I have leftover veggies from the night before (mushrooms, onion, etc) I add them sometimes. I will try the Provolone cheese, as suggested by another reviewer soon too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toccoa, Georgia, USA
Living In: Palatka, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2005
Excllent recipe. I also was skeptical about the nutmeg but it was perfect. I used parmesan and provolone cheese and it was delicious. My whole family gobbled it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
Awesome, the nutmet really does add an interesting hint of flavor and keeps it interesting. I do prefer the more frittata approach to the folded omelet...it tastes more fully cooked. I made this with probably twice as much spinach, give or take, because I love the green stuff. I also added a splash of half and half to the egg mixture for a little additional fluffiness. I thought I'd rather have a gooey cheese, but the parmesan was actually just right, as it turned out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessie Robinette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 211) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Light and Fluffy Spinach Quiche

See how to make a tasty, reduced-fat spinach and Cheddar quiche.

Chef John's Spinach and Feta Pie

An easy baked omelet that's loaded with spinach and feta cheese.

Crustless Spinach Quiche

See how to make this quick-and-easy brunch classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States