Baby Spinach Omelet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
Baby Spinach Omelet Haiku: "Blissful eggy dish. Almost perfect as written. I'll make this again!" Only small changes that I made were to lightly-saute a little diced onion (instead of onion powder) in the skillet and tossing in the spinach to barely wilt before mixing all the eggs and seasoning together. Also, 1/8 tsp of nutmeg, while seemingly scant, really would over-power a 2 egg omelet, so I opted for a pinch. I might use 1/8 tsp. if I were making a 6+ egg quiche, but not for a small single portion omelet. My omelet didn't make an attractive "flip and fold", as much as it just wiggled into a crepe-like snake, but oh wow, appearances aside, this was insanely good. I typically over-stuff my omelets w/ every veggie that I can unearth, but this simple combination of spinach/parm/onion (and that whisper of nutmeg) is beyond heavenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
Loved this omelet! Great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam Bartlett

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
I made it this morning for my husband and teenage boy. They loved it! Great way to get your veggies in. I added tomatoes inside the omelet at the end. Delicious! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elk Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Perfect dish for the South Beach Diet. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bartlett, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Don't fear the nutmeg! It is a classic in steakhouse style creamed spinach and a natural here. Be like Alton Brown and buy it whole and grate it with a microplane just when you use it. Thank you HollyJune, I would not think of rewriting your recipe, it is perfect as is. If I want to do something else, I'll submit a new recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
I made this for breakfast this morning and it was delicious and filling. I used Monterey Jack cheese in lieu of parmesan and kept everything else the same. My 2-year old even ate it and kept asking for more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Very good! I cut the recipe in half and added a little garlic powder and some pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ndejong765

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
If you're looking for something new this should be it! Only one word will do, yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
This is truly a delicious and filling omelet! I was a little skeptical about the nutmeg at first since I'm not very fond of it, but it turned out to make the dish quite unique and flavorful. However, instead of parmesan cheese I used mozzarella since it was the only cheese I had on hand, but I feel that it was just as good. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Very good omelet that's god for you too! Instead of using onion powder I sauteed some onion and then added the spinach. I cooked that until it was wilted. I added a little milk to the eggs before adding them to the veggies and threw in a couple cherry tomatoes cut in half for a little color and flavor. I left out the nutmeg altogether. When it was all done I seasoned it with salt, pepper, and shredded Parmesan cheese. Great with whole grain toast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
189 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 101-110 (of 210) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Light and Fluffy Spinach Quiche

See how to make a tasty, reduced-fat spinach and Cheddar quiche.

Chef John's Spinach and Feta Pie

An easy baked omelet that's loaded with spinach and feta cheese.

Crustless Spinach Quiche

See how to make this quick-and-easy brunch classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States