Baby Ruth™ Layer Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2000
DELICIOUS!!! It took me almost all day to make this cake for a family get-together but it was worth it. I won't put the whipped cream on the cake if I make it again I'll just put some on each slice when it's served.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca DeVries Poole

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cortland, New York, USA
Living In: Vestal, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2002
I cheated by using cake mix and it turned out great. Prepare 1 pkg. of yellow or butter recipe cake mix by using 4 eggs, 2/3 cup water, 1/2 cup peanut butter, 1/2 softened butter or margarine and add the chopped candy bars. Then follow the rest of the recipe. Apologies to the submitter, but I think this variation is just as good and a lot less time-consuming to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
amazing!! i made this for my husband's birthday, and it was a huge hit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2006
Just buy a German chocolate cake mix and top it with the the frosting from this recipe. It is perfect, and a lot less effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2000
It tok some time to make but it was a hit at my son's birthday party
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2000
Took some time-- but worth it... I would not ice the outside with whipped cream againg. When refrigerated the filling and topping get too hard needs to be room temperature-- but you can't do it with the whip cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2006
Extraordinarily good with the only downfall being the length of time it takes to make. I suggest playing around with the recipe. I actually made an almond joy cake instead substituting almond joys and almond butter for baby ruths and peanut butter. It was fantastic. I omitted the whipped cream for whipped chocolate frosting, which might be too sweet for some, but it was fine by me. Overall, a good (even if tedious) recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bay City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2000
Though the end result of this recipe is a very deicious desert, I can't say that it's really worth the time and effort it takes to make it. There are probably recipes out there that are just as scrumptious but take a lot less work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2008
Great cake. To really reflect a Baby Ruth candy bar it should have a chocolate filling/topping! Leave out the coconut and put in chocolate chips! leavint the whipped topping off until serving. Angie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States