Baby Ruth™ Layer Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2002
I cheated by using cake mix and it turned out great. Prepare 1 pkg. of yellow or butter recipe cake mix by using 4 eggs, 2/3 cup water, 1/2 cup peanut butter, 1/2 softened butter or margarine and add the chopped candy bars. Then follow the rest of the recipe. Apologies to the submitter, but I think this variation is just as good and a lot less time-consuming to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2000
DELICIOUS!!! It took me almost all day to make this cake for a family get-together but it was worth it. I won't put the whipped cream on the cake if I make it again I'll just put some on each slice when it's served.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca DeVries Poole

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cortland, New York, USA
Living In: Vestal, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
amazing!! i made this for my husband's birthday, and it was a huge hit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2000
It tok some time to make but it was a hit at my son's birthday party
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2000
Took some time-- but worth it... I would not ice the outside with whipped cream againg. When refrigerated the filling and topping get too hard needs to be room temperature-- but you can't do it with the whip cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2006
Extraordinarily good with the only downfall being the length of time it takes to make. I suggest playing around with the recipe. I actually made an almond joy cake instead substituting almond joys and almond butter for baby ruths and peanut butter. It was fantastic. I omitted the whipped cream for whipped chocolate frosting, which might be too sweet for some, but it was fine by me. Overall, a good (even if tedious) recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bay City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2006
Just buy a German chocolate cake mix and top it with the the frosting from this recipe. It is perfect, and a lot less effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2000
Though the end result of this recipe is a very deicious desert, I can't say that it's really worth the time and effort it takes to make it. There are probably recipes out there that are just as scrumptious but take a lot less work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2008
Great cake. To really reflect a Baby Ruth candy bar it should have a chocolate filling/topping! Leave out the coconut and put in chocolate chips! leavint the whipped topping off until serving. Angie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States