Baby Portobella Alfredo Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
Sorry, but this is a no-go. The directions can't be followed since, for starters, in a regular blender, those vegetables aren't going to budge ... I ended up with a stringy, non-alfredo-tasting mushroom paste. :/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
Tasty base recipe. The garlic was really overpowering! I added more mushrooms to try and mute the garlic. I did also sneak in a couple additional veggies into the blender. The kids ate it and had no idea that they were eating healthy. I'll make it again but with half the garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
This sauce is amazing! I literally wanted to bathe in it. It was difficult to stop myself from eating it by the spoonful! I wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
Easy, excellent dish!! I added extra garlic and sliced about 6 of the mushrooms; added them with the half and half and let sauce simmer until mushrooms were softened. Also used fresh fettuccine. The dish s a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allenhurst, Georgia, USA
Living In: Colfax, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
I didn't love this as much as the previous reviewers. In fact, I'd have given it "3" stars for "ok", but Mr. LTH (unsolicitedly) commented he enjoyed it, so that bumps it up to "4". To me, it was kind of bland. It had a nice earthy flavor, but still a bit bland; I found myself really enjoying the bites w/the fresh parm I'd added to the top. I couldn't get the mushrooms/onions/garlic to puree in my blender w/out adding some liquid, so I added some of the pasta water. THANKS for the recipe, evilcookie007!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
very tasty alfredo sauce, i added a 1/4 tsp of salt and it was delish. will use this in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
I made this recipe for my family and they loved it. My husband can't stop raving about this recipe. I added the half and half to the blender with the mushrooms, onions and garlic to make it easier to puree the veggies. I will be making this recipe often. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweettreats
Home Town: Orangevale, California, USA
Living In: Antelope, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
The onion I used was a sweet onion. I did toss a touch of crushed red pepper flake into this sauce with the salt/fresh ground pepper. That was the only change I made. I tossed this sauce with hot fettuccini noodles. My family has fallen in love with this sauce--I really should have doubled it because everyone was bummed there were no leftovers. This is one of THE BEST "alfredo" sauces we've had in a LONG time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Alfredo Sauce

See how to make a rich, creamy Alfredo sauce for pasta and chicken dishes.

Alfredo Sauce

See how to make a scrumptious creamy cheese sauce for pasta.

Easy Alfredo Sauce I

This pasta sauce is creamy, rich, and super easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States