Baby Food Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
My mother made this cake a thousand times. We served it in our restaurant for years and it was always a hit. The only difference was, it was made on a jelly-roll pan and she baked it 25 to 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Saginaw, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
Very disappointing. After 40 minutes the middle was like soup. I left it in the oven for 55 min & the middle fell. The taste was ok but I couldn't serve it because of the middle. Might try turning the oven down to 325 & baking for an hour if I try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
I made cupcakes and a small cake using this recipe so i didn't have the problem previous reviewers had about the gooey center. The only other change I made was I used pear baby food instead of apricot since it is what i had on hand. My 14 month old devoured the first cupcake I gave him so I am thinking it was a success. My husband also enjoyed it... even after I told him about the baby food in the recipe. I will most likely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CoreyBelle

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
one suggestion...One thing we did different is cook it longer about 45 minutes, so the edges are a little crispy but the middle was moist and the whole cake was completely cooked. I also use a cream cheese icing to top it off. My mother got a similar recipe from a coworker of hers but we only used apricot baby food. My cousins and friends always want me to make this cake for reunions and cookouts. It is a big hit, they love it with coffee too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
not very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by plant killer
Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
It was good, As per a previous comment mine was still soft in the middle, I had to end up having it in the oven for 40min. But other than that it went over grreat, I also added some cinnamon to it, and that worked out even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
my family thought this cake was really good. my 14 yearold thought he was too cool to eat the babyfood but then he was begging for more. I used peaches instead of apricots because my grocery didn't have any (buying babyfood sure isn't like it used to be) I am going to try plum next time. thanks for this one
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baraboo, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Hemphill, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2006
This cake is INCREDIBLE! I made it for my son's first birthday recently, and had the same problem another poster listed- it wasn't at all cooked in the center (think bowl full of jello) when I pulled out the pans at the end of the cooking time. So I just left it in there for another ten minutes. The edges were taller and darker than the rest of the cake, but they weren't burnt- instead they tasted sweeter like the top of a good pound cake. I used two 8-inch round pans, so the cake looked a little sunken in the middle, but the taste more than made up for the appearance. I would suggest using a one-layer approach to have the best-looking, best-tasting cake ever. p.s. I just used store-bought cream cheese frosting, but not the nuts. Excellent cake mix!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2002
This cake recipe is very easy and moist, along with a great flavor. Frosting: 8oz. cream cheese, 1 lb.powdered sugar, 1 stick margarine, & 1/2 tsp. vanilla. It was used for a baby shower cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2001
Something is wrong. The cake was a total flop. It never cooked in the middle. I double checked everything I did, I don't know what went wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States