Baby Food Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
My mother made this cake a thousand times. We served it in our restaurant for years and it was always a hit. The only difference was, it was made on a jelly-roll pan and she baked it 25 to 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Saginaw, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
Very disappointing. After 40 minutes the middle was like soup. I left it in the oven for 55 min & the middle fell. The taste was ok but I couldn't serve it because of the middle. Might try turning the oven down to 325 & baking for an hour if I try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
I made cupcakes and a small cake using this recipe so i didn't have the problem previous reviewers had about the gooey center. The only other change I made was I used pear baby food instead of apricot since it is what i had on hand. My 14 month old devoured the first cupcake I gave him so I am thinking it was a success. My husband also enjoyed it... even after I told him about the baby food in the recipe. I will most likely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CoreyBelle

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
one suggestion...One thing we did different is cook it longer about 45 minutes, so the edges are a little crispy but the middle was moist and the whole cake was completely cooked. I also use a cream cheese icing to top it off. My mother got a similar recipe from a coworker of hers but we only used apricot baby food. My cousins and friends always want me to make this cake for reunions and cookouts. It is a big hit, they love it with coffee too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
not very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by plant killer
Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
It was good, As per a previous comment mine was still soft in the middle, I had to end up having it in the oven for 40min. But other than that it went over grreat, I also added some cinnamon to it, and that worked out even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
my family thought this cake was really good. my 14 yearold thought he was too cool to eat the babyfood but then he was begging for more. I used peaches instead of apricots because my grocery didn't have any (buying babyfood sure isn't like it used to be) I am going to try plum next time. thanks for this one
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baraboo, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Hemphill, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2006
This cake is INCREDIBLE! I made it for my son's first birthday recently, and had the same problem another poster listed- it wasn't at all cooked in the center (think bowl full of jello) when I pulled out the pans at the end of the cooking time. So I just left it in there for another ten minutes. The edges were taller and darker than the rest of the cake, but they weren't burnt- instead they tasted sweeter like the top of a good pound cake. I used two 8-inch round pans, so the cake looked a little sunken in the middle, but the taste more than made up for the appearance. I would suggest using a one-layer approach to have the best-looking, best-tasting cake ever. p.s. I just used store-bought cream cheese frosting, but not the nuts. Excellent cake mix!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2002
This cake recipe is very easy and moist, along with a great flavor. Frosting: 8oz. cream cheese, 1 lb.powdered sugar, 1 stick margarine, & 1/2 tsp. vanilla. It was used for a baby shower cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2001
Something is wrong. The cake was a total flop. It never cooked in the middle. I double checked everything I did, I don't know what went wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States