Baby Food Cake Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
Tasty and easy. Used 2 extra applesauce jars and only 1 cup oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
a waste of ingredients...i baked it 20 minutes longer and it still wasn't done. too much cinnamon....would not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
I've been making this recipe for years, given to me by my husband's favorite aunt when I was a new bride. Her recipe calls for using a 17" X 11" jelly roll pan, which makes them more "bar-like." I have found that cutting back on the oil helps the texture to be less heavy. I use only 1-1/4 cup, and the rest is never missed. Also have varied the type of baby food, sometimes using sweet potatoes in place of the carrots, and peaches in place of the apricots, pears in place of applesauce, or even plums. They all make only subtle differences in flavor. Virtually any fruit or root vegetable baby food can be used successfully. You can even use plums for all 3 jars and make a delicious autumn plum cake, baked in a bundt pan (usually takes around 45-55 minutes at 350 degrees) and then glaze it. The variations are quite endless. I always frost with a cream cheese frosting, which makes a good thing even better. In fact, to us, the cream cheese frosting is a must-do. Any way you make them and serve them, they never fail to draw rave reviews. Have copies of this recipe handy, because you're going to get lots of requests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
I made this for my son's first birthday; he dug right in, and everyone else loved it, too. I split the batter between a 9x13 and a 1 qt casserole dish (because those are my two pans) and had cream cheese frosting optional, but the cake was so moist and delicious that the frosting was unecessary. I'll be purchasing a jelly roll pan and making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
I made this recipe the way it says to; using the 9 x 13 pan. It still turned out good, it just took 30 minutes to bake all the way through. My 19 month old little girl likes them & its a good way to get her to eat some baby food since now she likes big people food. I'll make these again using different flavors of baby food. Very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele Beers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kelayres, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: South Tamaqua, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2007
Even though I am the one who submitted this recipe, I have to rate it. This is a family favorite. I have to make two batches when I make them. I do ahve a note to add to this recipe though; I submitted the wrong size pan: should be a jelly roll pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2006
Carrot or spice...cake or bars, it doesn't matter, this is an awesome recipe. My mom's recipe was called Bingo Squares and I them love now just as much as I did back then. My entire family loves this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DBRENNY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Moline, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2004
I added another 1/2 c of applesauce & decreased the oil by same amount. The men at the baby shower were afraid to try it when I said there was baby food in it; they liked it best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2004
This is a wonderful recipe we've enjoyed for years, though I've never added the cinnamon. I cut back on the oil a bit(to 1 1/4 cups), bake it in a jellyroll pan, and top it with a fluffy cream cheese frosting. It's more cake-like than bar-like - delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2003
Maybe I did something wrong, but I didn't get cake bars, I got cake. I thought it was OK but not something I'd make twice. I did notice that my husband ate about 1/4 of the pan for breakfast, so perhaps that says something good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRADYSMOM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lowell, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lakeview, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

How to Make a Robot Cake

Wow your sci-fi fan with a birthday cake that looks like a robot!

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States