Baby Doe's Cheese Soup with Beer Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2006
Made some slight modifications to the original recipe per other reviewers suggestions - less Worcestershire sauce, more cornstarch. My grocery store doesn't carry Cheese-Whiz so I used a 16 oz bar of Velveeta instead. Coors was my beer of choice. The soup was easy and fast to put together and absolutely delicious. Two friends have already asked for the recipe. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2005
Not the recipe of beer cheese soup I was looking for. I was looking for something more elaborate tasting. This seemed to taste like beer and cheezwiz. The search goes on..... Thanks anyways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2005
YUM!! My husband and I often go to a local restaurant just for their beer cheese soup. This recipe was very close...just had a bit more spice. Next time I will try using a little more corn starch to thinken the soup up. Will make again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2005
Warning, the beer/alcohol taste in this recipe is very strong. I am not a beer drinker, but I usually like beer flavoring (beer brats, beer burgers, etc.). The beer flavor in this soup was just too strong for me. Perhaps cutting the beer down to 6 oz. would help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2004
suprisingly easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2004
This was great! What a filling soup - next time I'm going to have it in a bread bowl :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Salisbury, Maryland, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2004
Whenever we go to the Renaissance Festival in our area we have cheddar ale soup. Recently my husband asked if I could make it at home. I chose this recipe because it looked like the simplest one available. It was a huge hit! I knew it was a success when my husband called home from a business trip asking for the recipe so that he could make it for friends. Did I mention my husband doesn't cook? Even he could make the soup a success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSSKOGS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2003
I loved this soup!!!! It was SOOO easy to make, and tasted great. I just added a little more beer (my preference), and everyone enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2002
This soup is great!!! Everyone i have made it for has loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2002
I was very disappointed in this recipe. I have tasted the soup in Baby Jane Doe's restaurant and this does not taste anything like the soup I remember....It was VERY beer tasting and if I ever made it again I would definitely use less beer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States