Baby Doe's Cheese Soup with Beer Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2001
Baby Doe's Matchless Mine in Dallas has long been a family tradition and the "Beer Cheese Soup" has been a lifelong favorite of mine (I would always ask for an extra cup). This recipie is very authentic. I, too have reduced the amount of W'sauce as the first batch was a little "fishy". Wife loved it, kids liked it as well. I have found a new "Soup and Sandwich Lunch" staple at the Hawke house. Just a note: they originally used Coors beer (in the 70's anyway) not dark beer. I made it with both and the results, while completely different, are both delicious! Thanks for bringing back wonderful childhood memories!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2002
This soup is great!!! Everyone i have made it for has loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2004
Whenever we go to the Renaissance Festival in our area we have cheddar ale soup. Recently my husband asked if I could make it at home. I chose this recipe because it looked like the simplest one available. It was a huge hit! I knew it was a success when my husband called home from a business trip asking for the recipe so that he could make it for friends. Did I mention my husband doesn't cook? Even he could make the soup a success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSSKOGS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2000
I have eaten at Baby Doe's and this is one of my favorite places in Dallas. Txwindsong
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yakima, Washington, USA
Living In: Gilmer, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2001
I had been looking for this recipe for years - it tastes JUST LIKE I remember from Baby Doe's. So creamy and easy. Wonderful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2001
This soup is Awesome! My husband and I both love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2001
my husband is not a big soup eater or leftover eater and wanted to eat this three days in a row. it makes alot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2003
I loved this soup!!!! It was SOOO easy to make, and tasted great. I just added a little more beer (my preference), and everyone enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2004
This was great! What a filling soup - next time I'm going to have it in a bread bowl :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Salisbury, Maryland, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2004
suprisingly easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States