Baby Doe's Cheese Soup with Beer Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2007
I used to work at Baby Doe's and have searched for years to find a soup like theirs. This is wonderful and brings back some great memories. I like it best with a lighter beer. My husband bought a dark ale one time and it was a bit overpowering, but still a great soup. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Blann McGuire

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2001
Baby Doe's Matchless Mine in Dallas has long been a family tradition and the "Beer Cheese Soup" has been a lifelong favorite of mine (I would always ask for an extra cup). This recipie is very authentic. I, too have reduced the amount of W'sauce as the first batch was a little "fishy". Wife loved it, kids liked it as well. I have found a new "Soup and Sandwich Lunch" staple at the Hawke house. Just a note: they originally used Coors beer (in the 70's anyway) not dark beer. I made it with both and the results, while completely different, are both delicious! Thanks for bringing back wonderful childhood memories!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2006
Made some slight modifications to the original recipe per other reviewers suggestions - less Worcestershire sauce, more cornstarch. My grocery store doesn't carry Cheese-Whiz so I used a 16 oz bar of Velveeta instead. Coors was my beer of choice. The soup was easy and fast to put together and absolutely delicious. Two friends have already asked for the recipe. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
I have seaarched for the recipe from the Birmingham restaurant and this is it!! I love the soup we went to the restaurant just to get the soup. Add or redice the tobasco to adjust the "zip".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2006
I've had the original and this is pretty good. I used Newcastle beer which gave it great flavor. The tablespoon of Hot sauce gave it alot of kick, so next time I'll maybe use half. Added the extra cornstarch and still wasn't as thick as I would have liked. I paired it with some Sourdough Rye bread and it was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2008
I made it as recipe said and it's too thin and just not that good. I've had better lots better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Morgan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2002
I was very disappointed in this recipe. I have tasted the soup in Baby Jane Doe's restaurant and this does not taste anything like the soup I remember....It was VERY beer tasting and if I ever made it again I would definitely use less beer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2002
This soup is great!!! Everyone i have made it for has loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2001
my husband is not a big soup eater or leftover eater and wanted to eat this three days in a row. it makes alot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States