Baby Doe's Cheese Soup with Beer Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2000
I have eaten at Baby Doe's and this is one of my favorite places in Dallas. Txwindsong
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yakima, Washington, USA
Living In: Gilmer, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2000
Worth time and effort to make this soup. If two only are to partake of this soup recipe,then its contents should be somehow reduced, unless one wants to enjoy this soup daily for a few days. Nevertheless, I enjoyed it so much that I easily grant this soup a four star plus rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2000
The flavor was a little strong to me - the processed cheese sauce I used had anchovies in it (Cheese Whiz), and witht he Worcestershire sauce, that was a little too much anchovy. Next time, I will add less W. sauce. Also, I had to add some extra corn starch. My husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2001
Baby Doe's Matchless Mine in Dallas has long been a family tradition and the "Beer Cheese Soup" has been a lifelong favorite of mine (I would always ask for an extra cup). This recipie is very authentic. I, too have reduced the amount of W'sauce as the first batch was a little "fishy". Wife loved it, kids liked it as well. I have found a new "Soup and Sandwich Lunch" staple at the Hawke house. Just a note: they originally used Coors beer (in the 70's anyway) not dark beer. I made it with both and the results, while completely different, are both delicious! Thanks for bringing back wonderful childhood memories!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2001
I had been looking for this recipe for years - it tastes JUST LIKE I remember from Baby Doe's. So creamy and easy. Wonderful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2001
This soup is Awesome! My husband and I both love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2001
my husband is not a big soup eater or leftover eater and wanted to eat this three days in a row. it makes alot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2001
None of my kids would eat it. They said it tasted funny (the beer, I think).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2002
I was very disappointed in this recipe. I have tasted the soup in Baby Jane Doe's restaurant and this does not taste anything like the soup I remember....It was VERY beer tasting and if I ever made it again I would definitely use less beer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2002
This soup is great!!! Everyone i have made it for has loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States