Baby Carrots And Brussels Sprouts Glazed With Brown Sugar and Pepper Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2003
We Loved this recipe! After reading the other reviews and making this for myself, I've come to this conclusion...When "blanching" your veggies, cook them until the are the tenderness YOU like. I cooked mine quite a bit longer than the recipe called for. When making the sauce, I did NOT add the pepper, at all. I figured that is something that could be added at the table to an individuals liking. If serving to guests, be prepared to share the recipe! This one's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HAMMHOCKS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2004
This recipie turned my husband and I into Brussle Sprout lovers.Get the smallest ones you can find and chop the stem end down.Cut an X into the core area to prepare the sprouts. verna01
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
I have always hated brussels sprouts since i was a kid because they were so bitter. things change as you grow up. So I figured I'd try it again. holy cow! This recipe was awesome. Triple the recipe, you'll eat most of them before they are served. they come out super yummy. and don't worry, you can't use too much butter. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2004
We severed this dish on Christmas Eve. I listened to an earlier reviewer and cooked the veggies closer to doneness I wanted them to be in the end and it turned out wonderful. (Also cooked them a day ahead) The sauce really compliments the brussel sprouts. I didn't think it did much for the carrots, but the addition of carrots did look pretty. I'll make this again, omitting the carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2007
A nice change of pace for a side dish. I couldn't get the liquid to reduce enough, though, so it was still watery. I did add a tablespoon of cornstarch, as someone else suggested. Also, I steamed the veggies while the glaze reduced, then added it all together to the pan for a few minutes to coat the veggies with the glaze. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XineRevelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: North Charleston, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2002
This looked lovely in the dish on our Thanksgiving table, but it was disappointing. The glaze was thin and scanty, and the vegetable were not nearly cooked enough, according to the recipe times, especially the brussels sprouts. With some changes, this could be a pretty good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2005
Awesome, just too much pepper, and I like spicy stuff! Use pepper to taste, not just a measurement, really--it killed the recipe the first time I made it. I also steam the brussel sprouts and carrots instead of blanching them, worked perfectly! Otherwise, the sauce is perfect and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
I only made carrots, but the sauce was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
This is the best brussel sprouts recipe ever! It has become a staple for Thanksgiving and Christmas dinners, not to mention, that special dinner treat for my husband every so often. The only thing I tweak, is I add the brussel sprouts and carrots to the brown sugar glaze at the same time. I cook it all together about 8 minutes. It lends itself to the perfect blend of taste for both veggies. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
Very good recipe to try to spruce up, a not so fond vegetable of mine, brussel sprouts! Even tho my husband didnt care for them still, I did like this recipe on them and it made them more edible for me. I just had to add extra sauce over the ones that I ate! lol Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Indiana, USA
Living In: Moores Hill, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Saucy Brussels Sprouts

Learn how to make tasty Brussels sprouts in a warm orange sauce.

Duck Fat-Roasted Brussels Sprouts

See how to make easy Brussels sprouts roasted with duck fat.

How to Make Roasted Brussels Sprouts

See how to make roasted Brussels sprouts and cipollini onions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States