Baby BLT Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
I had such high hopes for these as I'm a BLT & mayo fanatic! Sadly, they fell short, although I haven't given up on them just yet. Some reviewers suggested using half cream cheese and half mayo which I think will be much more appetizing. I suggest using 1 tablespoon of parsley instead of two as it was far too much. Next time around I'm not going to scoop out the insides of the tomatoes as that's the best part!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DLD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glastonbury, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
I needed to transport these to a party. To keep them from rolling around while driving, I got a 1" thick piece of styrofoam at the craft store. I wrapped it like a gift with a square of pretty fabric and topped it with some leafy lettuce, held in place with toothpicks. I then arranged the tomatoes on top and placed a frilly toothpick in each tomato, anchoring it in the styrofoam. I covered it loosely with plastic wrap, and popped it in the cooler with a couple of blue ice packs. It traveled perfectly, and I had a lightweight, pretty "tray" and the guests could use the toothpick to pick up the tomato, if desired.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DESERTBORN54

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
I made with 4 medium vine tomatoes - chopped up the tomato innards which were hollowed out and mixed into the salad. Made a lovely light lunch - eat it like a very juicy apple or civilized with a fork and knife depending on company... :) Great for the low carbers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2012
These are great! Simple, easy, tasty and everyone I've ever served them to absolutely loves them. After making them several times, I have to agree with other reviewers. Half mayo, half cream cheese and let them sit in the fridge at least a couple of hours. They are one of the first things to go, particularly in the summer when the tomatoes are fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dutchgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2012
These were good but I didn't LOVE them. I'd make them again for a party though, they were pretty easy to make (though hollowing out the tomatoes was more of a pain than I thought it'd be!) I took some reviewer suggestions to add cream cheese because I didn't think I'd really care for using all mayo (I only had reduced fat mayo and it's not the great to eat a mouthful of.. ), but I think just a touch of cream cheese would have been better than using about half cream cheese/half mayo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kanata, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
I made these for my daughter's Fairy themed bday party and they were a hit! The mixture got a little oily from the bacon, so next time I will try cooking it in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
Have served these several times now and its been a hit every time! I do add a handful of finely shredded cheddar cheese, some garlic powder and black pepper. Scooping out the tomatoes is by far the worst part, but worth it in the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Urbana, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Anna-Bat
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
Made this for my annual Oscar Party, and it was a hit! I followed the suggestions to use half mayo, half cream cheese, and I really think that it gave it a good flavor and texture. Was surprised with how tasty these were. Only knocked off a star, because scooping out the cherry tomatoes was a bit time consuming and with small tomatoes almost impossible. Would definitely make again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna-Bat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Judith
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
Love Love Love this recipe! Thank you. I went with the 1/2 mayo, 1/2 cream cheese recommendation and I'm glad I did. I used fresh parsley, green onion and real bacon cooked in the oven so it was easy to crumble. I used tomatoes on the vine, a little bigger than cherry tomatoes, and it worked great. I also used the plastic bagmethod to squirt the mixture into the cups so the mess was minimized. SO worth the trouble. This was a hit on Superbowl at my house. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
These are awesome! I agree with the other reviewers that the salting process is helpful. I served in a round dish with a toothpick in each one to make serving cleaner and easier. Last tip: cut the bacon short-ways before you put it in the pan; this way it is pre-diced before you cook it, and it saves time. Chop again after you've cooked and cooled to get it very fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 296) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

BLT Dip

Chopped crispy bacon and fresh tomato mix it up with creamy sour cream and mayo.

BLT Salad

Croutons, crispy bacon, and a creamy dressing! This salad has the BLT beat.

Chef John's BLT Pasta

Blow off the bread and turn a classic sandwich into the perfect pasta dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States