Babka III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
I found the bread to be a little to dry. It was also heavy. Flavor was good, next time I will cut back on the lemon zest. I will try bread flour instead of the all porpuse flour to see if it lightens it up. May try cutting out second rise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
omg i love this recipe i have mine from an old cook book from poland of course. and it is simply delicous. But i had lost the recipe and found yours and it is simply terrific!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stittsville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by R.P. McMurphy
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
This weekend is Russian easter. My family (Grandmother and her sisters) traditionally go to church and get their babka's blessed on Saturday. My great aunt used to make them, but since she has passed, no one kept the tradition until this year, a couple of weeks ago I "tested" this recipe out after looking around and sure enough, Grandma approved and said tasted JUST like her sisters...So now I'm stuck making them all day today and tomorrow!! We do it in coffee cans, no liner just greased, and we do not add raisins. We ice it with powdered sugar, corn syrup and a little water and add sprinkles for the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
Wonderful! It is almost identical to the recipe my Ukrainian Baba (grandmother) use to make. I like a few more raisins, but the flavor is delicious. Also, as a warning to the Babka uninitiated...NEVER try to use a mixer (even a heavy duty stand mixer), you will burn out your motor because this is a very thick, sticky dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Riverview, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2005
This recipe is wonderful. Very light. If you like Babka, you will like this. Follow step by step and you will have success. Just like my moms, except she put on a sugary top which I love. Does anyone know how to add that to this recipe?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2005
This was good, my first babka. Too much work to make on any regular basis. I also think it should be refridgerated, after only two days (wrapped) it tasted like it may have gone bad. Must be the eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VALENZANO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Petaluma, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2004
Authentic recipe! This babka tastes just like the kind you buy at a Polish bakery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2003
I have made this Babka twice now... away from my grandmother's traditional recipie which no one knows. I followed this exactly the first time, the second time I added more raisins. Both times I ended up with three separate loaves - one baked in an angel food cake pan, and two in regular bread pans. They all turned out wonderful; however, turns out a little on the dry side and not sure how to correct it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2001
My family truly enjoyed, the Bread, It is a great dough,The moistness is excellant. Thank you for sharing. It will remain in my best of recipies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets)

See how to make pillowy beignets like they serve at Café du Monde.

Monkey Bread I

It’s so easy to make fun, delicious monkey bread.

Belgian Waffles

Deep, fluffy yeast waffles with crispy edges and soft centers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States