Babka I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
This Babka is to die for. It is a large yielding recipe but you'll want all the Babka this makes because your guests and you will keep eating it! Thank you for a wonderful Babka!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
Wow, I have been wanting to make this bread for ages now but it seemed like so much work. As Easter approached, I took the plunge, and wow, why did I wait so long? I cut the recipe down by a third, using 2 eggs and 1 egg yolk, and got some of the measurements slightly off (added a little too much butter), but this bread was light and delicious! I left the dough for the final proof in the pan overnight (I could not believe how high it rose) then baked in the morning. I took it to work where a Polish colleague told me I nailed it! Next time I will make the whole recipe and give the extras away as gifts. As good as any bread I have had from a fine bakery. Highly recommend your trying if you are nervous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
I used butter and rum soaked raisins and it turned out very tasty! I also only did half the recipe and I got two good sized loafs (I used loaf pans)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nicolekrystyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
Awesome recipe--wonderful! My grandmother's recipe was so dry, and this was not at all. I added 1/2 tsp. almond extract and 1/4 tsp. nutmeg with the vanilla. I loved the citrus additions. Thank you for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
Very good! Reminded me of the ones I used to have with my family! I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marieclaire0924

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
I followed the recipe exactly. It was worth the effort because it was delicious. Thank you for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
This recipe is fantastic. You can't buy it this good from a bakery. I made a large bread in the angel cake pan and another two regular shaped breads in bread pans from this one recipe. I made a mistake and left out the 4 egg yolks. Guess what? The bread was still perfect. I also didn't have a lemon and left that out. I put extra orange zest and orange juice. I used white and black raisens. My husband can't stop eating it. Thanks to JJOHN32 for this great Bopka recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2007
Delicious! My husband is polish and I make this every Easter to give to his family! I bake the Babka in 4 9x5 loaf pans instead of using the angel food cake pans, and it works out really well. This is an awesome recipe, one I have made part of our Easter tradition, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Marine City, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHINYHAPPYRAYS
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2006
Really tasty Babka! It was the best when it was still warm ... and with some butter spread on it !! My family enjoyed it. I really like the orange flavour in there!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHINYHAPPYRAYS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bedburg, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2005
This has become an Easter tradition for me and everytime a guest has some, they beg for a loaf to take home. I usually have to have several in the kitchen ready to give away. This is the best!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

How to Make Easter Bread

See how to make traditional braided Easter bread with a simple glaze.

How to Make French Baguettes

You really can make authentic French baguettes from scratch. See how it's done!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States