Babe Ruth Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 1, 2014
Fast, easy and delicious. I use milk chocolate chips. I also substitute Corn Chex for the flakes to make them gluten free. This probably gives them better texture too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
I have made these bars before (very tasty made per the recipe!), but I was looking for a foundation for making something similar to the Nature Valley protein bars. I had to go with what I had in the pantry, so I used brown rice instead of corn syrup, brown rice puffed cereal instead of corn flakes, and an unprocessed cane sugar instead of white sugar (and used dark brown sugar--again just what I had on hand). I also added 2 cups peanuts (roasted at home and very lightly salted)and the whole bag of chocolate chips (bittersweet chips is what I had on hand), and I added a splash of vanilla and a scoop of protein powder to the peanut butter mixture before I added the dry ingredients. My end result was almost spot on for what I was going for, and it actually tastes even better than the store-bought bars. I cooked my mixture in the microwave for about 2 1/2 minutes. It turned out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wisweetp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
To avoid rock-hard cookies like some reviewers have mentioned... Mix the corn syrup and sugars. Bring to a boil and boil for one minute. Remove from the heat and stir in peanut butter until smooth. Pour over other ingredients and press into the pan with a spoon or spatula. ...soft ooey-gooey goodness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
they taste okay but maybe misnamed. Need something nougaty to hit a home run
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs.Humphreed
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
After reading some reviews and noticing most users said the bars didn’t look pretty I decided to sprinkle the chocolate chips on top of the mixture after putting it into the baking dish. They looked pretty but these bars are way too sweet for my taste. I wouldn’t change anything on the recipe; the bars are good but for people with a sweet tooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Humphreed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
Made this today, really good. Used the amounts listed, wouldn't change a thing. Soft and chewy. Melted the chocolate and drizzled it on top instead of mixing it in. The best part was how fast and easy this is to make. Thanks:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Richmond, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
Great recipe. I tweaked it a bit per other reviewers advice. I only added 5 c. of cornflakes and used brown sugar for all of the sugar. I cooked the sugar, syrup and peanut butter mixture until it was all thoroughly combined. Mixed in the cornflakes and spread it into a pan that was lined with lightly grease aluminum foil. Once they were almost cooled, I cut them into squares. When they were cooled I dipped them into chocolate. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
Did not taste like babe ruth to us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
Made a hit - better the first few days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 232) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States