Babe Ruth Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2003
Great recipe. Especially easy. Sure, they don't look pretty, but just by simply melting chocolate chips & spreading them on top, and then sprinkle finely chopped peanuts, they took on an entirely different look!! When I make these again, I will use milk chocolate chips, and/or increase the peanuts to one cup and leave out chips inside of it, and spread the melted chips on top. Just my preference. One can easily adjust this recipe. Worth a try to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2003
These taste great, yet they are unattractive. I brought them to a bake sale and nobody was buying them, yet when a man tried one he said "Wow, these are great!" and he bought the whole plate. The next time I made them I frosted them and put sprinkles and a cherry on them, and they sold right away. These are fabulous, and I'd recommend them to everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2002
Every one loved it. I think those who had problems with it didn't cook the peanut butter mixture long enough. I used the last cup of chocolate chips in the bag as a frosting on top. As easy as making rice crispy treats! Thank you Mignonne
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2003
I've never tried the bar, but these are definitely YUMMY!... heavy, too! They go rock-hard pretty quickly, so cut them into squares BEFORE they're cooled. Also, to make them edible after 2-3 days of storage (if they last that long!), nuke them in the microwave until barely warm - the peanut butter mixture will soften again, and they will be as chewy and wonderful as when you first made them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Rossburn, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2002
These are great! I have found that the kind of peanut butter and corn flakes does make a difference, though. I tried it once with natural peanut butter and "healthy" corn flakes and it was a disaster ... they were so hard I broke a knife point trying to cut them after they cooled. But with really creamy peanut butter (I used Peter Pan) and commercial cornflakes (Kellogg's) the result was crunchy, light, and delicious. I was even able to cut back a little on the corn syrup and substitute 2 T. of water, and they still came out perfect. I also like to sprinkle a few extra chocolate chips on the top, since the chocolate has a tendency to melt when the mixture is still warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gammaray (=
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
I had this recipe in a beloved cookbook . . . I have not made them in years - but am over-joyed to find this here! I had a horrible time cutting them - my ex had to do it for me wearing heavy-duty gloves to protect his hands. What I ended up doing was making "balls" of the dough and dipping them into melted chocolate . . . ***edit*** I make these for my chocolate-hating, Baby Ruth-loving manchild. I roll them into logs and don't dip them in chocolate - for naked Baby Ruth Bars for the chocolate hater. He loves them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gammaray (=

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2007
I have been making these for years and am just now rating them...they are great!! Quick, easy and always a hit... not sure that they taste like a babe ruth bar, but who cares, they taste great. Only tips I have: I mix the corn flakes PB and choc chips in a large bowl then am able to dump them in the melted mixture and get a better blend of ingredients. I also line a 13x9 pan with aluminum foil and then press the bars into it. Once in fridge for little while, you can pull them out of the pan by the foil and then use a pizza cutter to cut them into squares of any size. Be careful you don't fridgerat them too long though--they become a real booger to cut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clermont, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2002
Good even without the peanuts
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
I have been making these for years. My Mom used to make these to put in our lunch boxes, and I did the dame for my kids. They are also great for showers and holiday cookie exchanges, with a little bit of fancying up! I eliminate the white sugar, and use 1 cup brown sugar. The white sugar may be part of the reason people have trouble cutting the bars. Also, since I have always used chunky peanut butter, I don't use extra peanuts. Often, I just leave out the chocolate chips, or I use them spread on top as a sort of icing. You can change up this recipe so many ways, and it is always great if you can get past its homely appearance!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2007
These were great. The kids love them. I followed the advice of the previous reviewer and lined my 13 x 9 pan with foil, sprayed a bit with some PAM and then put in the fridge to set them up a bit. Once you cut them up you should keep them in a tupperware container to keep them nice and fresh and out of the fridge since they have a better texture at room temp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 1-10 (of 232) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States