Babe Ruth Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2006
These were awesome! Read all the reviews and took some advice from some of the others and decided to make the first time with the Honey Graham cereal instead of the corn flakes. I just figured it would give it more flavor and I was right. I also, before they cooled, melted a bag of peanut butter chips in the microwave, adding a tsp or two of shortening, and spread that on top, along with extra peanuts and the baking mini M&Ms. That made for a nicer presentation. Found it easier to cut AFTER they were cool, versus before, though. Brought half the pan to work and they were gone right away and left the other half at home for all the teenagers in the neighborhood......they also disapeared right away! This is one I will definitly add to my Christmas baking list!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bedford, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2006
Pretty great! always a big hit. Make sure to cut them before they cool, i pull them apart right away and put them on wax paper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2006
I cut back on the cornflakes per other reviewers to 5 cups. It did not taste like a Babe Ruth bar at all. It was just okay, but I will not make again. FYI...if you cut back on the cornflakes, it would be good to cut back on the corn syrup as well. I didn't do that and I think it would have been much better if I had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2006
Very delicious, my husband couldn't stay out of them, easy to make but very rich, great for a quick pot luck take along.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2 yummy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2006
tasted great but messy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2006
I didn't think they really tasted like Baby Ruth Bars, in fact, I thought they tasted very similar to peanut butter rice crispie treats. It was still very good, hence the rating. Mine did not turn out like the picture, when I added the chocolate in, it melted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2006
Tasted nothing like the candy bar to my family. I wasn't crazy over it but my family like it. Easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clio, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gladstone, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2006
My teenager loved these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Williamsburg, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2006
These taste nothing like the bar from what I remember. They are so crumbly - I would definitely NOT recommend cutting them before they cool unless you plan to have a big messy pile on your serving plate. Not good tasting for the mess they made, though they are extremely easy to make. I used chunky peanut butter, 1/2 cup corn syrup and 4 cups cornflakes (which got all squishy and weird) for this, as recommended by various people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2006
If you generally like the Peanut Butter, chocolate, peanut combo, you will love these. As previously suggested, I used a little less corn syrup and milk chocolate chips (we prefer) and they are not hard as rock and really yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 233) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States