Babe Ruth Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2007
I didnt think these tasted much like the candy bar. That being said, they were very good, and everyone that tried it liked it, even those that dont care for peanut butter. I followed the recipe exactly, and had no problem with the bars getting hard. They were a tad bit crumbly but no big deal. I do agree with others though; these are tasty but not attactive.I probably wouldnt serve them to guest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2007
These are so good. It's amazing how much they taste like the real thing. They are always a hit when I take them to parties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda H.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hempstead, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2007
I made a few modifications to this recipe including: decreased the corn syrup to 1 cup; decreased the Corn Flakes to 5 cups; oil sprayed the 13X9X2 pan; cut into squares while they were warm but kept them in the pan to finish cooling then placed on wax paper to set. I agree with a previous post that these taste more like Peanut Butter Rice Krispie Bars than a Baby Ruth bar. They were not bad tasting though. Recommend drizzling melted chocolate chips over the top vs adding them to to pot. When I added in the chips to the mixture they all melted. I also 'over crushed' my Corn Flakes a bit so the bars looked a bit mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
Like most others, my bars crumbled a bit... but oh, were the crumbly bits delicious! My husband loved these and has repeatedly asked for round two. I might try adding more corn syrup for a greater gluey effect:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
Very easy, quick snack to make. I used 5c. corn flakes and a 1/4 cup less white sugar. I did not mix the choc. chips in because Babe Ruth bars only have choc. on outside. So, I melted choc. chips and poured on top of mixture. Then topped with some chopped butterscotch chips and chopped peanuts. Yummy, but doesn't taste like Babe Ruth bar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MJ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mount Vernon, Illinois, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
These are great for satisfying a huge sweets craving - just look at the ingredients! I haven't had a Babe Ruth bar, but these were very good. I used plain Cheerios instead of Corn Flakes, and I had no problem with the cereal getting soggy. The presentation wasn't too bad either! I didn't need to butter my baking dish and the bars were only slightly difficult to cut. I will make these again, but next time I'll probably cut down on the sugar (if not eliminate it completely). I'd also like to experiment with other add-ins: walnuts, grated coconut, oats...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2006
I made this for a company picnic and won second prize in the bake sale! These are great and perfect for warm weather when you don't want to turn on the oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Broadview Heights, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2006
delicious and so easy! I used 5 cups of flakes and it seemed to turn out a good consistancy. Drizzled melted chocolate on top for a better appearance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2006
These were awesome! Read all the reviews and took some advice from some of the others and decided to make the first time with the Honey Graham cereal instead of the corn flakes. I just figured it would give it more flavor and I was right. I also, before they cooled, melted a bag of peanut butter chips in the microwave, adding a tsp or two of shortening, and spread that on top, along with extra peanuts and the baking mini M&Ms. That made for a nicer presentation. Found it easier to cut AFTER they were cool, versus before, though. Brought half the pan to work and they were gone right away and left the other half at home for all the teenagers in the neighborhood......they also disapeared right away! This is one I will definitly add to my Christmas baking list!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bedford, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2006
Pretty great! always a big hit. Make sure to cut them before they cool, i pull them apart right away and put them on wax paper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 231) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States