Babe Ruth Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 11, 2010
These were really good. I didn't have semi sweet chips so used milk. Also didn't have peanuts so used roasted unsalted almonds. Because of the milk chocolate these needed melted chocolate on top to have a stronger chocolate presence. Also I imagine that peanuts would be even better than the almonds in this recipe. I will try again sometime following the recipe as stated. Very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tracy, California, USA
Living In: Manteca, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
good. easy to make and they disappeared fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gammaray (=
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
I had this recipe in a beloved cookbook . . . I have not made them in years - but am over-joyed to find this here! I had a horrible time cutting them - my ex had to do it for me wearing heavy-duty gloves to protect his hands. What I ended up doing was making "balls" of the dough and dipping them into melted chocolate . . . ***edit*** I make these for my chocolate-hating, Baby Ruth-loving manchild. I roll them into logs and don't dip them in chocolate - for naked Baby Ruth Bars for the chocolate hater. He loves them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gammaray (=

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
These are delicious and so easy. I whipped them up in under 10 minutes. I made a couple of changes based on the ingredients in my house. I did not have any white sugar (ahhh!!!). I substituted it for another 1/4 of cup of brown sugar and 1/4 cup of condensed milk. This seemed to work out just fine. Also, my cornflakes were fairly stale, but that did not make any difference. I will be keeping this recipe on hand for a quick and delicious dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
These taste very similar to a scotcheroo. I took the advice of others and did not add the chocolate chips to the mixture but spread an entire 2 cups of melted chips on top (and I used milk chocolate chips instead). I thought it could've used a few more peanuts (I used dry roasted) and maybe the addition of some mini marshmallows would be nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HARTMR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
I have made these twice and both times was asked for a copy of the recipe. That makes it a hit in my book and a will be a favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bismarck, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
These are absolutely delicious! Only downfall - I couldn't stay out of them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
These were wonderful. I added more peanutbutter than is called for. I have made them twice and both times they were gone quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Julia  Garreaud
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
I put this Babe Ruth Bar in my recipe folder in December when I joined allrecipes and I have been looking forward to making these. Just got around to the task this evening and glad I did. I whipped these together in about 12 minutes and ya gotta love those quickies... They were good but not great and they are Sweeeet though so one bar is plenty... Because they are a little messy probably best to enjoy these at home. I know some reviewers didn't care for the appearance and it's true they don't hold together 100% but they looked fine cut into the bars. Oh, I did use Milk Chocolate Chips which I almost always prefer over Dark Chocolate! My teenage son and his friend just devoured a few... and did request I make them again. I'll save my calories for something else however!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia  Garreaud

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sherman Oaks, California, USA
Living In: Gilford, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
These were pretty unappealing to us, in all ways. They didn't hold together very well and just didn't look or taste great. I can appreciate the idea behind them, it just didn't work out for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 233) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States