Babe Ruth Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
I have been making these for years. My Mom used to make these to put in our lunch boxes, and I did the dame for my kids. They are also great for showers and holiday cookie exchanges, with a little bit of fancying up! I eliminate the white sugar, and use 1 cup brown sugar. The white sugar may be part of the reason people have trouble cutting the bars. Also, since I have always used chunky peanut butter, I don't use extra peanuts. Often, I just leave out the chocolate chips, or I use them spread on top as a sort of icing. You can change up this recipe so many ways, and it is always great if you can get past its homely appearance!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
These bars were super easy to put together and really quite tasty. Unfortunately my chocolate chips melted when everything was stirred together so it looked more like a chocolate bar. My only real issue was the chewiness of the bar. I realize that's because of the corn flakes, but it may still prevent me from making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by prittykitty74

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
My bars were nice and chewy. Over cooking the sugar mixture would be what makes them hard. One daughter thought it needed more peanut butter, the other more chocolate. I will make them again, but maybe try and cut back on the sugar to help with the sweetness and see how they turn out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilmasteca

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
Well, they don't taste anything like Baby Ruth bars, but they're pretty good. Next time I'm going to add a little extra peanut butter. Also, some other reviews commented that these are very messy, something I didn’t find to be true. If you follow the recipe as instructed and be sure to press the mass firmly down into the dish and allow it to fully cool, they cut very easily and hold their form well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happykimmyj

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
My hubby and I thought these were just ok, but my cleaning lady loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele Davis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beckley, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ilove2cook
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
Great no bake dessert bar! Making it reminded me of rice krispies treats, but w/ chocolate n pb. I made them for my fiance as baby ruth is his favorite candy bar. He enjoyed them. I took the advice of others and cute while warm. Next time I will also decorate them as the kids didn't think they looked good. Thanks for the recipe. IL2C
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilove2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Jillian Kuhlmann
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
I've made these a few times now. Love how quick it comes together. This time I sprinkled white & choc chips on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian Kuhlmann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mansfield, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
Just not good! Even used other suggestion of melting chocolate and topping with peanuts. Never again. Tasted nothing like a candy bar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CATIETOD
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
These were only okay. I don't know why they are called Babe Ruth bars because, to me, they didn't taste anything like my favorite candy bar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 233) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States