Babe Ruth Bars II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2001
Hi! After trying this recipe I found I had only one suggestion. You need to almost double the amount of chocolate you melt down to cover the bars to ensure getting a nice even layer. I used two extra bars and still didn't have enough. The only reason why I didn't give the Kid Friendly rating a 5 was because I didn't test this on kids. I made it for a work treat for my birthday. Although, these guys could be considered kids, I guess. Great recipe, and I would definetely use it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2006
These are great! To make it easy, I use a bag of milk chocolate chips instead of the chocolate bars. Just put the chocolate chips over the still warm bars, cover and let set for a few minutes to soften, then spread evenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mauigirl
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
These were quick and easy and a sweet treat for the neighbors. I used a corn flake cereal with dried cranberries because that is what I had on hand. I also added an additional layer of peanuts to the top of the peanut butter mixture and pressed it in to get a less sweet outcome. My neighbor likes semi sweet chocolate, so I sprinkled chocolate chips (I don't think the chocolate amount in the recipe would do the trick) over the warm bars and covered with foil until they melted like someone else suggested in the reviews. Spread out the melted chocolate, chill and you are done. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: May 27, 2010
I made these for my coeliac DH and he loved them! Great keeper as they are so easy and fast to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love to cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2002
This receipe was great. One thing I did was I used 6 chocolate bars to cover the top more. I jsut wanted more chocolate on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
m-m-m!! These are delicious if you like a chewy peanut butter treat. I recommend only covering them in a high quality chocolate (no chips mixed in)I used a higher grade dark chocolate. These are truly awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maureen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2006
This recipe is a lot like the other one. I used chunky peanut butter instead of peanuts, 1/2 cup corn syrup, chocolate chips and 4 c cornflakes. The directions were a lot better stated in this recipe, making them look a little more appetizing than the other one. Still don't taste that great though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2005
This is a great recipe, but I modded it a bit -- I stirred the melted peanut butter, sugars and corn syrup over the cornflakes, then stirred in the peanuts and *one cup of chocolate chips*. Then, I pressed everything into an aluminum-foil lined pan, which made it easier to get the cut bars out once they were cooled. I didn't melt any chocolate to pour over the top of them. They're awfully sweet, but if you have a super sweet-tooth like mine, you probably won't care. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2004
Wonderful Recipe. I made these to bring to work before Christmas. They were gone before noon. Everyone who tried them loved them. I also added 1 1/2 cups of peanuts. Liked them so much, I made a second batch for home the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2003
These didn't look as bad as I expected after readign previous reviews. I think the cornflakes sticking out of the chocolate "goo" may be what others found unappetizing. I did go ahead and sprinkle more chocolate chips and crushed peanuts on top and I ran it back into the microwave briefly so the chips woudl melt a little bit. Really, it would have been OK (especialyl for kids) as written. This one will keep the dentists in business.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States