Babaci's Potato Pierogi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
Filling is really enough for several batches of the dough- but that is the only downside to this recipe. This was the first time I made homemade Pierogi & with this recipe is was completely fool-proof.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
This was my first time and it came out very well! I substituted sour cream for the cream cheese and added some cheddar cheese and dill to the filling and they came out very tasty. thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by oceline

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fremont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
Not so great, too much filling, not enough dough, way too much time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by great_girl11

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
I thought the dough was good, but the amounts required for the filling was far too much! I made only 12 servings and made 2 batches of dough, but it still wasn't enough. The filling was rather plain, so I added, fontina cheese, ham, and some more butter, and it tasted really good alone. Then sauteed it in onions and garlic. After that it tasted quite good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
I'd like to give this recipe more stars, however my pierogi turned out very tough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
I think I finally have figured out the mystery of the filling. It all comes down to bad instructions. The first 10 I followed the instructions, and well..they weren't good. When rolling the dough, roll it to a 1/4 inch. The cut out with the smallest cutter you have, I used the smallest biscuit cutter, about an inch. Most people wouldn't have a glass small enough. A childs juice glass might work. When you have all those cut out, there's about 70. THEN, roll them again to almost a paper width. I used almost all the filling, and they didn't taste like breading. That being said..and being Polish...they did NOT taste like my grandpas... I don't think they're worth the work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sarnia, Ontario, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2008
I'm Polish, too, and this recipe looks a lot like the ones my family makes (except for the cottage cheese!) And we never fried them in oil....always in butter....so much more flavor!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Living In: Clermont, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
My parents are Polish and when my mom made these, the filling was made with cream cheese, mashed potatoes and grilled onions. And topped with bacon of course :) Sooo good! If farmers cheese was available we used that, but I loved the cream cheese more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laguna Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
I only gave the recipe four stars because instead of the cottage cheese, you need to use farmers cheese. Most markets have this. I also added sauteed onions to my mashed potatoe mixture. Other than that, this was just like my grandmother used to make. It wasn't as hard as I expected. Thank you so much for this recipe. Next time I will add some sauerkraut to the mixture. My grandmother also did these with plums and just boiled them. When they were done she would top them with sour cream and sugar. I know it sounds weird but they were wonderful! Now I have the dough recipe and can make many variations. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MDASILVA11

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2007
In Poland, white cheese used in this recipe only tastes like cottage cheese, but looks like feta cheese (dry). This is the reason why some of you did not like the cottage cheese in this recipe. And to the filling, we also adding extra chopped and fried on a skillet onion. It tastes much better that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Cheater Pierogi

Discover a quick-and-easy way to make pierogi.

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

How to Make Instant Potato Pancakes

See a time-saving tip for making potato pancakes from instant mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States