Baba Ghanoush Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
I followed the recipe to a T and IMO it has way to much lemon juice. I've had this dish many times before but this was the first time I made it. None of the ones I've had before had that much lemon in it. I thought it was suppose to be a brightening note not an overpowering flavor. The concept was good but the miscalcutaion on the lemon juice ruined the dish. I will now have to figure a way to thin the flavor out because this was a rather expensive learning experience.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
simple yet elegant appetizer - this recipe is just how I 1st learned it 25 years ago. Was a hit then & is a hit now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Amazing! The key is broiling the eggplant in the oven 30-40 minutes, turning every 5 minutes, until cooked well and the skin is charred all over. Scoop out the eggplant, put in a bowl and let the water drain out. Dispose of water. I used 1 small-medium sized eggplant, 1 clove garlic, 1 1/2 tsp tehina and 1 1/2 tspn lemon, salt and pepper to taste. I'll be making this again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eila

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
This was okay. Wasn't sure what to expect since I'd never had it before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Petroleum, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Spencer, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
I think it is great, I added two touches to your recipe. I cooked the eggplant on my Weber charcoal grill and I added 1 more tsp of sesame seeds and roasted them before using.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
Nothing wrong here except the portion size for the eggplant. Unless you are getting a massive eggplant, I highly suggest you double the number of eggplants you are getting. It should taste much more smokey and much less like hommous. Still not bad though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
This turned out amazing! What I also added was diced green peppers, white onion and tomatoes, as you would find it in the Middle East, it adds a nice crunch to it, without over powering it. Lastly, I topped it with a bit of olive oil and pomegranate molasses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
Delicious, followed the recipe as written and it turned out great. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
This was gray-grossness. Even my I'll-eat-anything-husband said I could pitch it in the trash. I have so much tahini left from a 15 oz can. I hope I can find another use for it. Maybe I'll make some hummus. Sorry, Winky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ad-lib Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
Way too much lemon juice. I will try to add another eggplant to balance this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 325) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Baba Ghanoush

See how to make a classic, garlicky roasted eggplant spread.

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

Easy Guacamole

See how to make classic, quick-and-easy guacamole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States