Baba Ghanoush Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
We liked it served warm with warm pita triangles. I have also substituted soy butter for the tahini and it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
I'm usually a big fan of eggplant but this did not work for me. Might bave been the tahini that I bought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
The problem with this recipe is that there is no measurement for the amount of roasted eggplant pulp. Think about what would happen if recipes said use 10 carrots instead of 6 cups grated carrot, or 4 tomatoes versus 3 cups diced tomato. Too imprecise for reliability. I looked up Baba Ghanoush here because my grocery store had a sale, eggplants for $1 each. This recipe only calls for 1 eggplant and I'd bought 2, but I figured if the final product needed more tahini or lemon juice it would be easy enough to add it in. What I didn't expect was that there would be FAR TOO MUCH tahini in the recipe. The overwhelming flavor was tahini - so much so as to make it inedible. Anyway, in order to salvage my dish, I bought 2 more eggplant - at nearly 3 times the price as the originals. I strongly feel there should have been a measurement given for the amount of roasted eggplant to the tahini and lemon juice. The amount, apparently, the recipe submitter obtained from 1 eggplant has taken 4 medium sized eggplants for me to get. Not a good way to write a recipe, IMO. Barring a measurement for the amount of eggplant, which I feel is optimal so that if the user wound up with a different amount, they would know to alter the proportions of the remaining ingredients, at least instruction could have been given to add tahini and lemon juice "to taste" as opposed to 1/4 c each. I'm giving this 3 stars because I should have thought about this before making the recipe as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
Wonderful recipe! I followed TYEBUG's directions for roasting the eggplant, everything else I did as written. The tartness from the lemon juice fades after refrigeration, and by day 2 it tasted even better. I tried eating it with a fresh red bell pepper - it was to die for- Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
This was exactly what I was looking for. Good balance of flavors, good texture, and very nice spread on celery sticks. Decent snack if you're doing the low carb thing. I wish I wasn't but if you must, this makes it a bit easier. :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheepy
Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
This recipe is better than the one I buy at the store!!! I use belgium endives to dip instead of chips or crackers. Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
Excellent, though my husband doesn't like Egglplant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
My husband liked this recipe, but I didn't. Took a bite and I was done. I think there was just too much sesame, I've had much better Baba Ghanoush.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
AMAZING!!! Thank you so much Winky for this recipe, it had been years since I had had good baba ganoush!!! I followed the recipe as written and was worried about ending up with bitterness problems as some other reviewers. I put the eggplant on a colander and collected the eggplant juices in bowl. At the end, I mixed the juices in and it gives it some extra eggplant flavor! My baba ganoush was not bitter at all, I thought it might be too sweet but with a bit of salt and the lemon juice, it was perfect!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
I grew up in a household where women would burn their fingertips peeling hot eggplants. Fortunately, nowadays you can buy roasted, peeled eggplant in a jar from any of the Turkish food sites. A whole jar (over 1 lbs) of grilled, peeled, lightly salted eggplant (kozlenmis patlican) is $5.99 plus shipping. I like the taste of the Sera brand best - but Tamek will do too. It is a good solution for those too busy to do the whole grilling, but love the taste of a good homemade appetizer (meze).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 330) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baba Ghanoush

See how to make a classic, garlicky roasted eggplant spread.

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

Easy Guacamole

See how to make classic, quick-and-easy guacamole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States