Baba Ghanoush Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
I am not an eggplant lover, but I made this for my teenage son who was convinced he'd tried it at a friend's and liked it. He doesn't like eggplant either so I didn't tell him what was in it and he loved it! Great after-school snack. I must admit, I like it too! Now if I could just figure out to do with the rest of this big container of tahini! Thanks for the recipe Winky
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Volleyballmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
I don't think there is neccessarily anything really wrong with this recipe. Might just be, I don't think tahini can be masked in hummus or eggplant dip and it is really just a flavor I don't care for. This recipe was no exception. I cut the eggplant in half and roasted in my NuWave oven. That was super easy. It only needed 18 minutes total and the water peel method was very quick too. I tried to blend the other ingredients by themselves to grind the sesame seed, while the eggplant roasted. However, once I tasted the final dip, I realized the crunchiness of the sesame seeds or eggplant seeds was still there. So, I dumped the dip back into the blender with the olive oil already stirred in. At this point everything was completely blended, but now it looked and tasted very much like tahini. Going to search for recipes to use this stuff in, now, because it made over 2 full cups of dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
Very good, a little lemony but I am wondering if my eggplant was small? I added a good bloop of some vegan mayo and that smoothed the flavors together very nicely. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
To those of you who aren't sure you want to try this recipe because of the comments about "too much lemon juice", my advice to you is: try it! Just add a little at a time until you get to where you like it. (Turns out I like it pretty close to what is called for. Also turns out that I'm fond of salt...) Use a big eggplant, and if you can't char it over an open flame, just roast it, and then cheat by adding a drop of liquid smoke. (Hey, it'll do!) I'll be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
All I could taste was tahini and lemon (I actually put slightly less than suggeted).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
Love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
I have prepared this recipes many times with a twist . . . to start, and after seasoning it with olive oil, salt and pepper, and garlic powder, I grill/fry the eggplant. NOTE: When I want to add a bit of a kick, I also season the eggplant with dried chili pepper flakes. I grill the eggplant until it starts to get a nice brown look to it and I can start to separate it with a fork. I also leave the skin on which adds a great flavor and texture. This has become a family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
This was very good. I would have liked a more garlic flavor and added some garlic powder after making it and I just wasn't getting the garlic flavor I wanted. I thought this was an easy recipe to make which pleased me very much. I will definitely make this again but add more garlic at the beginning. I may even roast garlic while roasting the eggplant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
I love this recipe. It was easy to make and even my 10 month old loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lav
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
First, I followed the recipe, but after trying the end product, I decided to add more lemon juice. It definitely made a difference and added the necessary tartness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 332) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baba Ghanoush

See how to make a classic, garlicky roasted eggplant spread.

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

Easy Guacamole

See how to make classic, quick-and-easy guacamole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States