Baba Ghanoush Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
Way way way too much lemon juice. I wish I had read other people's reviews a little more before making.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Dover's

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
This is absolutely delicious! I took the advice of TYEBUG and grilled the eggplant over my stove burner before roasting it in the oven. (I just stuck two skewers through the eggplant and held it over the burners until it was a bit charred.) It made a huge different, and added a lot of lovely, smokey flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
Loved this! followed almost exactly. Added lemon juice slowly and tasted several times (because it seemed like it 1/4 cup might be too much) I ended up using a little less lemon juice. At the end, I added 1/2 tsp liquid smoke to get more of a smoky flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
This recipe is easy and delicious. I did it exactly as posted here, however I'm sure that roasting the eggplant differently could add more flavour (like on a charcoal grill, aw yeah). This recipe was simple and worked great. As a side note, to people who find this recipe expensive - tahini is very simple to make! You can spend anywhere from $6-$12 on a jar, or you can spend $2 on a bag of sesame seeds; as long as you have olive oil, an oven and a food processor, you're good to go. Spread hulled sesame seeds out on a baking sheet lined with parchment paper. Bake them for about 6 minutes, then take them out and mix them around a bit. Put them back in the oven for another 6 or so minutes. You'll know they're done because they turn a golden brown colour and they are nicely fragrant. Transfer them off the baking sheet (easily done with the parchment paper) into your food processor bowl - sesame seeds are super easy to burn, so you want to avoid continuing to cook them by leaving them on the hot pan. At this point, I turn on the food processor for a bit and break them down, then it's a matter of adding olive oil until you hit the consistency you like. I let mine get a little soupy, but still thick. Salt/pepper to taste. Voila - tahini. It'll keep in the fridge for about a month and if it does go bad before then, trust me you'll know. It'll smell rancid. Also, you can use it for all kinds of recipes - not just baba and hummus, there are so many on this site - check it out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
Very delicious recipe, though if I make it next time I might use two eggplants instead of one or maybe use slightly less garlic! Didn't have the sesame seeds but it turned out just fine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Corvallis, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
OH MY GOODNESS! Can't believe how easy this was to make - I used my food processor and fresh eggplants from the farmer's market - big ones were 3 for $2! Everyone RAVED about this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
I am not an eggplant lover, but I made this for my teenage son who was convinced he'd tried it at a friend's and liked it. He doesn't like eggplant either so I didn't tell him what was in it and he loved it! Great after-school snack. I must admit, I like it too! Now if I could just figure out to do with the rest of this big container of tahini! Thanks for the recipe Winky
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Volleyballmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
I don't think there is neccessarily anything really wrong with this recipe. Might just be, I don't think tahini can be masked in hummus or eggplant dip and it is really just a flavor I don't care for. This recipe was no exception. I cut the eggplant in half and roasted in my NuWave oven. That was super easy. It only needed 18 minutes total and the water peel method was very quick too. I tried to blend the other ingredients by themselves to grind the sesame seed, while the eggplant roasted. However, once I tasted the final dip, I realized the crunchiness of the sesame seeds or eggplant seeds was still there. So, I dumped the dip back into the blender with the olive oil already stirred in. At this point everything was completely blended, but now it looked and tasted very much like tahini. Going to search for recipes to use this stuff in, now, because it made over 2 full cups of dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
Very good, a little lemony but I am wondering if my eggplant was small? I added a good bloop of some vegan mayo and that smoothed the flavors together very nicely. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
To those of you who aren't sure you want to try this recipe because of the comments about "too much lemon juice", my advice to you is: try it! Just add a little at a time until you get to where you like it. (Turns out I like it pretty close to what is called for. Also turns out that I'm fond of salt...) Use a big eggplant, and if you can't char it over an open flame, just roast it, and then cheat by adding a drop of liquid smoke. (Hey, it'll do!) I'll be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 328) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baba Ghanoush

See how to make a classic, garlicky roasted eggplant spread.

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

Easy Guacamole

See how to make classic, quick-and-easy guacamole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States