BUSH'S® Red, White and Bean Minestrone Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
Absolutely wonderful. Instead of only 1/4 cup of Turkey sausage I added 1 lb extra lean Hillshire Turkey Kilbasa sliced in chunks. No Pesto for me either and it was one of the best soups we've had in ages.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TrishDish
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
I made this the other night, and it was fabulous. The only change I made was I used sweet Italian sausage and left out the spinach. I also added ditalini pasta instead of the bowties, which is more traditional for minestrone. Awesome recipe, loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TrishDish

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hartford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
I love this soup - it's a staple at my house. I double the recipe and use two crock pots, freezing the soup in individual portions. I make a couple of changes though. First, I use ground turkey breast for the meat. Secondly, I use whole wheat pasta. And, lastly, I don't add the pasta to the crock pot until the very last minute so it doesn't overcook. I also increase the veggies some. I've worked it out so that depending on the number of servings, using "my" revised recipe, it comes out to be 4 or 5 points on Weight Watchers (without the pesto or parmesan).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
Great soup! I used a full pound of sweet turkey sausage and omitted the celery but other than that I followed the recipe and it turned out great. I was even asked for the recipe. Thx!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
LOVE it! I've tried it with Pork sausage and Italian flavored ground turkey. I think the pork sausage was better-more flavor. Don't need to change a thing unless you want it vegetarian style or more meat. With more meat (then the 1/4 cup the recipe calls for) we just put a little extra tomatoe paste with the extra meat. A scrumptuous soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2009
We loved it! I too used a whole pound of ground turkey Italian sausage. Other than not having the spinach, Followed the recipe to a T. Makes a big batch-I froze half the leftovers after we each had 2 bowls! Thanks Bush!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2009
I made this for a group dinner and it received rave reviews. Many people asked for the recipe and have made it for other gatherings as well. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
love, love, love this recipe, best minestrone ever, my whole family love this recipe. My daughter added cheddar cheese over and it was great too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
This was absolutely delish. The whole family loved it. Made no changes to original recipe, but made it a second time with regular Italian sausage. Probably a little less healthful for you but just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
FIVE STARS!! Used prepackaged shredded carrots and omitted the spinach and pesto. Added about 1 cup fresh mushrooms sauteed in butter. Also added 3 slices American cheese to thicken, and aged white cheddar shreds with a handful of feta on top. Kids ate it up, and hubby and son took it for lunch yesterday! I've eaten leftovers for lunch and just now finished the last. Mmmm, this was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johanna WISHES she were a

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States