BUSH'S® Red, White and Bean Minestrone Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
I love this soup - it's a staple at my house. I double the recipe and use two crock pots, freezing the soup in individual portions. I make a couple of changes though. First, I use ground turkey breast for the meat. Secondly, I use whole wheat pasta. And, lastly, I don't add the pasta to the crock pot until the very last minute so it doesn't overcook. I also increase the veggies some. I've worked it out so that depending on the number of servings, using "my" revised recipe, it comes out to be 4 or 5 points on Weight Watchers (without the pesto or parmesan).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TrishDish
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
I made this the other night, and it was fabulous. The only change I made was I used sweet Italian sausage and left out the spinach. I also added ditalini pasta instead of the bowties, which is more traditional for minestrone. Awesome recipe, loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TrishDish

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hartford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
Absolutely wonderful. Instead of only 1/4 cup of Turkey sausage I added 1 lb extra lean Hillshire Turkey Kilbasa sliced in chunks. No Pesto for me either and it was one of the best soups we've had in ages.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
it was good but the noodles were kinda weird in it next time i will leave them out
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
Easy to make and my hubby and I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burlington, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Hamden, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
I've made this quite a few times. I don't really like minestrone or beans, but this recipe has converted me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheila Pigeon

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
This was pretty good, but it seemed like a lot of effort and a long list of ingredients for just being pretty good. I probably won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kilijen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
This soup was fantastic. I followed the recipe, except that I added two sausages. I used Applegate Farms mild Italian chicken-turkey sausage. It has a delicious flavor that really made the soup even better - especially the fennel. Definitely brown it first. I used all organic veggies and beans (sorry Bush!). I also used multicolored bowties that my daughter loved. I actually had pesto at home and tried it on the soup, but it really just doesn't need it. The soup is delicious as is and the pesto flavor just masks the soup flavor. Unless you LOVE pesto, I'd skip it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
Just made this tonight and it is wonderful!! My 5 and 8 year olds were asking all day long, "what smells so good?" I followed this recipe as directed and it turned out delicious~ good flavor, full of veggies and great with french bread. Thanks for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
This recipe is wonderful!! I even added a little more turkey sausage and veggies and it turned out wonderful! Great as leftovers as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States